!@#$ Intellution Ifix

eastkodakguy

I am new to the world of ifix and cannot figure out how to save and have multiple projects to select from. I have a customer running Ifix runtime on several PC's. All I want to do is transfer the Project to my laptop. Thats it. How in the world do I do this. They are using the ifix as a stand alone operator interface to a simple packaging machine (a little overkill huh :D) I want to transfer the project that is running Ifix to my laptop then edit it using my ifix software then transfer it back to their pc. I have looked extensivly in C:dynamics/ and cannot find anything. I am very familiar with RSview 32 and it is nothing like this. any help would be greatly appreciated
Thanks
Dallas

Also I thought about copying the entire C:dynamics file but that cannot be right??? can it,

The hard part will be if you want to keep your projects separate.

By default, iFix puts all the project files in the /Dynamics folder, and the Backup & Restore Wizard will copy ALL of the files in the /PIC, /LOCAL, /PDB, etc folders.

Do as everyone said, and use the Backup & Restore Wizard to make a full backup of the customers system. Also copy the SCU file (.SCU extension) as a separate file.

What I would recommend you do is, first, open the old SCU file, record all the settings (name of node, database, PLC drivers, etc),

Create a new folder for the project on your PC.

Then create a new vanilla SCU file (using the System Configuration Utility), and change the project path (NOT the Base path). iFix will create default subdirectories and certain systems files.

Manually enter the data from the old SCU into your good SCU. (It may complain that the database doesn't exist - that's OK for now)

Save this SCU file in the /LOCAL folder of your new project folder.

Make this the default startup project (you'll be prompted).