PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A

PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A (http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/index.php)
-   LIVE PLC Questions And Answers (http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Controllogix major fault codes (http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=25451)

pauly September 14th, 2006 10:55 AM

Controllogix major fault codes
 
I want to display the reason for a controller major fault on an HMI how do I get the fault type and codes?

NOP September 14th, 2006 11:06 AM

In Logix5000 press and hold Alt then h,o,o then look at chapter 15 for some sample code.

pauly September 15th, 2006 02:50 AM

Ive seen this, isn't this routine for a program fault rather than hardware fault though?

SMOKE September 15th, 2006 07:52 AM

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/uploads/Faults.JPG

Oakley September 15th, 2006 09:00 AM

Don't forget that the GSV is a scanned instruction - it does nothing if not scanned.

If you have a major fault, the logic stops, and therefore the GSV will not execute. The HMI would not read the value.

I find it best to just monitor the communication with a handshake, then if an alarm comes in, someone goes online to interrogate the reason for the disruption.
Also realize that when the major fault is cleared, the process will resume. Be sure that you have a fault routine that sets the process in a safe mode.

pauly September 15th, 2006 09:47 AM

Could I put the GSV instruction within the controller fault handler

Oakley September 15th, 2006 09:55 AM

Yes, but if your controller is not communicating, does it respond to data requests? I don't believe so.

pauly September 15th, 2006 10:20 AM

In my fault routine I bring a bit on to indicate controller fault, this gets communicated to the HMI without problem. I have faulted the controller a number of times but I never see any change in the major fault bits!!!What am I doing wrong?

Operaghost September 16th, 2006 01:13 AM

It would help if you told us more about your logic. Are you using a Program Fault Routine or a Controller Fault Handler? Where is the GSV instruction? What are the parameters? Did you create a User Defined data type? Is there any logic preceding the GSV preventing it from executing?

You must place the GSV instruction in the fault routine to handle "program" faults or in the Controller Fault Handler to handle other faults including loss of critical I/O.

Also you need to select "PROGRAM" for the GSV class parameter and "MAJORFAULTRECORD" for the Attribute. "This" will work for detecting faults in "this" program or in the controller fault handler.

Also, make certain that if you are using the COntroller Fault Handler that you specify your routine as a Main Routine, NOT a fault routine.

OG

pauly September 20th, 2006 03:44 AM

Fault handler
 
1 Attachment(s)
This is whre I have the GSV instruction, inthe controller fault handler, in a routine called fault.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.

.