SLC 50/4 to Ethernet Flex I/O

NCUDAVE

In a Water Plant I have a SLC 50/4 as a Master PLC. Serial port is connected to radio modem. DH+ is connected to two other SLC 50/4's, three DH+ Panelviews, and DH+ Card in a Computer with RS View. The other two SLC 50/4's have the serial port unused.

Want to move toward ethernet in the future. Considered Flex I/O with ethernet by using either a DH+ to Ethernet bridge or a 1761-NETENI on one of the open serial ports.

I am learning Flex I/O requires a PLC to control its configuration and messaging.

Is there an Ethernet I/O that can be configured and read by at least my RS View??

You want to move toward Ethernet in the future..... please refine that statement.

Are you looking to replace the DH+ network with Ethernet? Or are you just looking for a way to access that network via Ethernet so you can connect from your desk?

If the latter then the 1761-NET-ENI will serve just fine, just connect to a serial port on one of the slave PLCs and you should be able to drill into the DH+ network to get to your master PLC. Keep in mind it is still a serial connection so it's not very fast.

I have not messed with any DH+ to Ethernet bridges so I can't ellaborate on that.

You mention you are considering Flex IO? For what purpose? Do you need to add IO and you don't have room in the PLC rack? Are you adding a remote cabinet so you need some form of remote IO? Flex IO is just an extension of the PLC IO, therefore a PLC still needs to control it.

When using 5/04 CPU we've tended to use a 1747-SN RIO scanner card in the PLC rack to talk to a Flex IO RIO adaptor, in turn controlling the Flex IO that we need. This setup is pretty straight forward when it comes to discrete IO, however does get a little dicey when messing with analog IO as you need to use block transfers in your logic to control the analog IO. Not very difficult, a little reading of multiple manuals and it all begins to make sense.