MicroLogix 1400 - STRING to INT

jrsnydley

Hey everybody, Happy New Year!

I have a PanelView Plus 600 that has a String Input Enable. This is communicating with a MicroLogix 1400 and the String Input Enable inputs to ST18:0. I am trying to move this into an Integer with the ACI instruction. The data in ST18:0 is RC 27. When I use the ACI instruction to move it into N15:2 then the data in N15:2 changes to 27. I have never used the ACI instruction before but it seems pretty straightforward. Am I missing something?

Hey everybody, Happy New Year!

I have a PanelView Plus 600 that has a String Input Enable. This is communicating with a MicroLogix 1400 and the String Input Enable inputs to ST18:0. I am trying to move this into an Integer with the ACI instruction. The data in ST18:0 is RC 27. When I use the ACI instruction to move it into N15:2 then the data in N15:2 changes to 27. I have never used the ACI instruction before but it seems pretty straightforward. Am I missing something?

yes, the RC.

it's not an integer value. What are you expecting the value to be?

Well, I guess I thought that String to Int (ACI) converted ASCII to a decimal value and put it into an integer. That is what I am trying to accomplish.

So, the end goal is to have 4 integers containing decimal values equivalent to the ASCII string. The string is 8 characters long.

I am trying to write this data to another processor (via a MSG instruction) within an array of INTS. When it reaches the other processor, it interprets the data there.

Is there a good way to do this or do I have to configure another MSG instruction just to write my string to the other processor?

Would something like this work?
Code:
 BST MOV ST18:0.DATA[0] N15:0 NXB MOV ST18:0.DATA[1] N15:1 NXB MOV ST18:0.DATA[2] N15:2 NXB MOV ST18:0.DATA[3] N15:3 BND