Allen Bradley 1747-L30C Online Monitoring...

Andy S

Hello All,

Although I'm a newbie to posting on this forum I have used it many times in the past for help and advice - thanks to all you guys!

Anyway, my problem is that I have a customer that wishes me to connect to an Allen Bradley 1747-L30C PLC to help diagnose a problem that they are having with their production line.

Although I have used the SLC 500 (5/01 - 5/04) range in the past I have never connected to this type of processor.

Therefore I was wondering if RS Logix 500 and either the 1784-PCM4/B or PCM5/B lead would do the trick?

The customer has also mentioned that the code is backed up to an Eprom.
This is something that I have never done before but I assume that the latest version of the code could be written to the Eprom from RS Logix when connected to the PLC?

Thanks in advance for your help, Andrew

Hi Andy S.

The 1784-PCM4/B and PCM5/B are used in combination with a 1784-PCMK card.
The PCMK card is a bit expensive. It is a card for the PCMCIA slot in the laptop.
You might consider a 1747-UIC. It is a DH485 adapter that connects to the laptop via a USB port. It is much less expensive than a PCMK.

edit:
I notice that you have connected to a SLC5/01 before. The communication to the fixed hardware style is the same (DH485). You probably have the necessary hardware allready.

When you download the program to the PLC it is stored in RAM only.
The program is only stored on the EPROM if someone activates the "store to EEPROM" function in RSLogix.

Hi JasperMP, and thanks for your reply.

I failed to mention that I already have the 1784-PCMK card and leads, but anyway I have done a bit of digging on the net and confirmed like you have that it’s a DH-485 connector on this PLC type, so the PCMK card and 1784-PCM4/B lead (with RJ45 jack) should allow me to get online.

Thanks again for your help,

Andrew