how to make an hour meter

sas11

I am using directsoft5 software. Trying to make an hour meter,at first I tought about using a .1 timer setting it to close everyminute triggering a counter then the minute counter triggering an hour counter. I soon realized that the timing/counting limits would not allow me to have a continous counter/hour meter. Obviously by now you can tell i am just learning. Any suggestion , help?
Thanks
sas11

sas11,

Use a TMRA (accumulating timer) to count up to 2777 hours (9999999.9 seconds). Be sure to not use the next higher timer address because it uses it also.

If its for something like accumulating motor hours then 2777 hours is about three months - might not long enough for an application where a motor runs for years. If milldrones suggestion isn't long enough, then try using a 360 second retentive timer, and count tenths of an hour - you can count them with a float by adding .1 to the float evertime the timer reaches 360 seconds. The retentive timer retains its value in between "tenths" so that you don't loose the time in the overall accumulation. If your processor doesn't have floating point numbers then you can use a DINT or a double BCD, just remember to insert a decimal.

Thanks! got it going. On a similar problem what if i just need to count dump cycles, but I need to go up to 22,000 counts. I do not know if it makes a difference but i will be looking at the counts on an operator screen

Thanks

Concerning your last request let me note something - what does a 'counter' do?

1. It performs a one-shot of the input line
2. Based on the one shot it increments an accumulator location
3. It compares the accumulated value to a 'preset' to set a 'done' (or in AD case a contact with the same name as the counter).

But the standard AD counters only count to 9999. What are your options?