- Interactive Q & A - Interactive Q & A (
-   LIVE PLC Questions And Answers (
-   -   Modicon Quantum (Unity) To ABB ACS 550 Drive (

MadPLC November 3rd, 2009 08:24 AM

Modicon Quantum (Unity) To ABB ACS 550 Drive
Hello all, first time poster here.

I have a Quantum PLC and am trying to connect to an ABB ACS 550 Drive. We are using Modbus TCP with a RETA-01 module on the drive. The communication link is ok as the RETA module sees the network but we can't get the PLC to talk to it.

We have tried all the variations of address in setting up the PLC I/O scanner (1, 40001, etc) but nothing. I have gone through the parameters and set them up according to the literature available. There is no joy in MudVille today.

I am open to pretty much any idea at this point as we are trying to start up a new plant and this is a huge hurdle we need to overcome. ABB tech support was helpful but still nothing.

Thanks everyone.

(8{)} ( .) November 3rd, 2009 12:29 PM

Stupid question.

Can you ping the RETA?

Good Luck

(8{)} (: .)

MadPLC November 3rd, 2009 01:46 PM

I am able to ping it. The network status light shows status so it's talking on the network.

DickDV November 3rd, 2009 07:45 PM

Go back to ABB Tech Service and insist on speaking with a Fieldbus specialist. The Tech service guys are generally very good but Fieldbus is enough of a specialty that you need one that focuses on it.

MadPLC November 4th, 2009 06:19 AM

Well I was able to control the drive with a message command from the PLC. You have to set up a message block to read and write. All I am waiting for now is word back from ABB if the drive can acept a permanent TCP connection. The message block is an open and close type connection whereas the I/O scanning of the Quantum needs a permanent open connection. I don't know if the drive supports that and if it does how do I set it up.

iknowsomeplc November 15th, 2009 05:33 AM

If ABB drive supports Modbus TCP, it can act as Modbus slave and Quantum PLC can use I/O Scan to control the drive.
I guess, you must have done the I/O Scanning configuration under the ethernet link ( either base CPU module or NOE module ) in Quantum. Remember that all modicon addressing starts with 1 ( and not 0 ) and hence there may be an offset of 1 in your register addressing.

Ind Auto September 14th, 2012 04:42 AM

ABB 550 Modbus Protocol has addresses with digit 4 as prefix. While communicating with ABB AC31 PLC, the function block in PLC has Address tag as a WORD input which cannot be greater than 32768. Whereas ABB 550 has Address of 40000 onwards. Please suggest.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.