You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 18th, 2006, 04:36 AM   #1
Andy S
Member
United Kingdom

Andy S is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England
Posts: 40
Allen Bradley 1747-L30C Online Monitoring...

Hello All,

Although I'm a newbie to posting on this forum I have used it many times in the past for help and advice - thanks to all you guys!

Anyway, my problem is that I have a customer that wishes me to connect to an Allen Bradley 1747-L30C PLC to help diagnose a problem that they are having with their production line.

Although I have used the SLC 500 (5/01 - 5/04) range in the past I have never connected to this type of processor.

Therefore I was wondering if RS Logix 500 and either the 1784-PCM4/B or PCM5/B lead would do the trick?


The customer has also mentioned that the code is backed up to an Eprom.
This is something that I have never done before but I assume that the latest version of the code could be written to the Eprom from RS Logix when connected to the PLC?



Thanks in advance for your help, Andrew
  Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 05:43 AM   #2
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,220
Hi Andy S.

The 1784-PCM4/B and PCM5/B are used in combination with a 1784-PCMK card.
The PCMK card is a bit expensive. It is a card for the PCMCIA slot in the laptop.
You might consider a 1747-UIC. It is a DH485 adapter that connects to the laptop via a USB port. It is much less expensive than a PCMK.

edit:
I notice that you have connected to a SLC5/01 before. The communication to the fixed hardware style is the same (DH485). You probably have the necessary hardware allready.

When you download the program to the PLC it is stored in RAM only.
The program is only stored on the EPROM if someone activates the "store to EEPROM" function in RSLogix.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 07:17 AM   #3
Andy S
Member
United Kingdom

Andy S is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England
Posts: 40
Hi JasperMP, and thanks for your reply.

I failed to mention that I already have the 1784-PCMK card and leads, but anyway I have done a bit of digging on the net and confirmed like you have that itís a DH-485 connector on this PLC type, so the PCMK card and 1784-PCM4/B lead (with RJ45 jack) should allow me to get online.

Thanks again for your help,

Andrew
  Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 07:36 AM   #4
dalem
Member
United States

dalem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE Wisconsin
Posts: 101
The program is run in RAM in the PLC. The program can also be stored in the EEPROM, if that chip has been installed in the PLC. The PLC may load the program stored on EEPROM when booting up, if that was set in the program. I beleive it has to be set in the program currently running in ram AND the one stored on the EEPROM.

If making updates to the program, make sure the new one running in RAM has also been burned to the EEPROM. If you don't the modifications may be lost as soon as the PLC is rebooted.

Programs stored in RAM and/or EEPROM, when you upload from this PLC or EEPROM, you will not have any doumentation to work with. Hope they also have it on disk.

Last edited by dalem; May 18th, 2006 at 07:44 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 07:52 AM   #5
Andy S
Member
United Kingdom

Andy S is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England
Posts: 40
Good morning to you dalem and thanks for your post,

They do have a disk, so fingers crossed it will have the original code with documentation attached. Thanks also for your info on the EEPROM. I assume like JesperMP pointed out that the programme could be burned to this from RS Logix?

Cheers

Andrew
  Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2006, 08:24 AM   #6
dalem
Member
United States

dalem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NE Wisconsin
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy S
I assume like JesperMP pointed out that the programme could be burned to this from RS Logix?
In RSLogix500, it's under the "comms" tab. You need to be online with the PLC to burn to EEPROM. I beleive it take the PLC out of RUN mode, so be ready for that.

Not sure why, but now that I'm using Win XP, I sometimes have probelms burning the EEPROM. I beleive the error message is something about not being able to get ownership of the processor. Usually, when this is happening, I am plugged into the Panelview 550, which is hooked to the SLC500 L20A unit. Don't remember that issue with my Win 95 laptop. To get around this, I hook up directly to the SLC itself. If still problems, I reboot the PLC then do the D/L or EEPROM burn just after it starts up. This issue might have also come about, when I upgrades my PB32 software.

Last edited by dalem; May 18th, 2006 at 08:27 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2006, 11:29 AM   #7
504bloke
Lifetime Supporting Member
England

504bloke is offline
 
504bloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: West Ssx
Posts: 2,651
As Dalem States its under the comms tab

Comms > EEProm > Store to EEprom or Load From EEProm

If they have the ladder on disk, you may want to check thats its the same code thats in the processor!

Your dh485 pcmk will work just fine
__________________
Regards

Dave



"When you are courting a nice girl an hour seems like a second. When you sit on a red-hot cinder a second seems like an hour. That's relativity."
Albert Einstein (1879-1955)
  Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2006, 12:11 PM   #8
Jimmie_Ohio
Member
United States

Jimmie_Ohio is offline
 
Jimmie_Ohio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 492
Don't Forget About the Status Bits !

Don't forget to use various status bits for the following, if required:

Memory module load on boot is bit: S:5/8
Password mismatch is bit: S:5/9
Load memory module on memory error is bit: S:1/10
Load memory module always is bit: S:1/11
Load memory module and RUN is bit: S:1/12

Check out HELP in RS Logix for more information.

Also, I always had the problem when using a EEPROM on the SLC with a PanelView that changes made through the PanelView were lost if the EEPROM wrote over it on any of the above conditions, if set up that way.
__________________
"Invention is 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration - Edison." This explains why so many engineers smell so bad...
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Learning Allen Bradley mbferrari LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 March 11th, 2009 12:25 PM
USB conversion for Allen Bradley SCL500 Interface Convertor 1747 PIC samdutton LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 May 16th, 2006 03:44 AM
Wincc 6.0 and Allen Bradley PKTX 1784. nistam LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 31st, 2004 09:19 AM
Allen Bradley 1747 PIC Schematic Kroz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 5th, 2004 07:03 PM
Need Help with allen bradley mneumonic explanation Ctrayler LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 26th, 2004 01:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


.