You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 21st, 2007, 08:20 PM   #1
ChadT
Member
United States

ChadT is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spartanburg
Posts: 4
Exclamation PLC 5/20 analog I/O

Before I start I would like to say I am new to this forum and to PLC programming! If anyone could help me with my problem I would very much appreciate it! I have a PLC 5/20 processor, 1771-IFE B series, and a 1771 OFE2 series B. This equipment is hooked up to a trainer. On the trainer I have a selector switch that selects bewtween 2 pots that control current to a milliampmeter.


I tried going into the I/O configuraion and selecting everything I thought that I needed to and finally I clicked the insert rung button. I also took the card out of the rack and configured the jumpers (I think)!

Can any one pleas help me with anythink Im doing wrong?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2007, 09:09 PM   #2
Tharon
Member
United States

Tharon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,414
What exactly is the problem you are having?

(I think you spent so much time explaining the setup you forgot to include the issue. It happens sometimes.)
  Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2007, 09:25 PM   #3
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 9,870
ChadT, it would also help us to help you if you could post your .RSP file
Click on go advance or just scroll down to attach file. You must zip before attaching.
Also tell us which slots the modules are in, rack size.

Heres some reading to get you started:
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Block Transfer Config for PLC5.pdf (258.6 KB, 30 views)
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb

Last edited by Mickey; July 21st, 2007 at 09:27 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2007, 10:53 PM   #4
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 9,870
ChadT
Some more reading for you:

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=26202
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2007, 04:32 AM   #5
Ken Moore
Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Upstate South Carolina
Posts: 2,325
S.w.a.g.

Forgot to wire the DC power supply to in/out loops?
__________________
"To give real service you must add something that cannot be bought or measured with money; and that is sincerity and integrity."
- Donald A. Adams

  Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2007, 01:55 PM   #6
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,320
Greetings ChadT ...



and welcome to the forum ...



incidentally the hardware that youíre using is almost exactly the same as the stuff I use in my training classes ... if you canít make any headway, youíre welcome to give me a call and Iíll walk you through the setup step by step - (for free) ... itís not really hard but there are a LOT of little steps that must all be done to make things work ... you can find my phone number by clicking the link below my signature ...



hope you get everything working with the suggestions that my distinguished colleagues have already made - but if not, give me a call ...
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

  Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 10:36 AM   #7
ChadT
Member
United States

ChadT is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spartanburg
Posts: 4
Ron, Tharon, and Mickey;

Thanks so much for the fast reply! Like I said Im new and Im sorry for the lack of info, mainly because I dont know. I am not sure what rack its in and which slot the module is in. I only have 1 rack so I think its rack 00. I have attached a pic of my rack and circled the analog I/O cards.


I need a step by step process of how to configure the card in RSLogix and the cards itself.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2007, 02:02 PM   #8
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,320
Greetings ChadT ...



depending on how your chassis DIP switches are set up, your analog modules could have several possible addresses when you configure your Block Transfer Reads and Writes ...

--------------------------------------------------------------------

(a) if youíre using two-slot addressing ...



your 1771-IFE module would be located in Rack 00, Group 4, and it would be Module 0 ...



your 1171-OFE module would be located in Rack 00, Group 4, and it would be Module 1 ...

----------------------------------------------------------------

(b) if youíre using one-slot addressing ...



your 1771-IFE module would be located in Rack 01, Group 0, and it would be Module 0 ...



your 1171-OFE module would be located in Rack 01, Group 1, and it would be Module 0 ...



----------------------------------------------------------------

(c) if youíre using half-slot addressing ...



your 1771-IFE module would be located in Rack 02, Group 0, and it would be Module 0 ...



your 1171-OFE module would be located in Rack 02, Group 2, and it would be Module 0 ...

----------------------------------------------------------------



although the DIP switches on the chassis backplane are the way these address modes are set, donít bother to remove the processor to check them ... the easy (and most reliable way) is to check on the Processor Status window - on the Switches tab ... the addressing mode of the local chassis will be listed there ...



now then ... we also need to know how your analog inputs are physically wired to the IFE module ... specifically, are you using single-ended or differential wiring? ... based on the fact that you have four input pots - and are only showing five wires connected to the IFE module, Iíd bet serious money that youíre using single-ended wiring ... that would give us one wire for each pot - plus a fifth wire for the signal common ... a total of five wires ... youíll eventually need to nail the exact wiring scheme down for sure - but for now letís assume (gosh I hate that word) that itís single-ended ...



if Iíve guessed correctly on the single-ended issue, then youíve got your jumpers set wrong (if you followed the pattern that you have circled) ... and we also need to know whether the pots are providing a voltage signal - or a current signal ... Iím betting (pocket change only) that itís voltage ... if so, then you need to set your jumpers to match the pattern in the left row of that diagram you posted ...



plan of attack: check everything that you can - particularly about the wiring ... change the jumper positions if necessary ... then give me a call and weíll walk through the programming ... if all goes well, we should be done in about five or six minutes ... since all NEVER goes well, itíll probably take about 20 or 30 minutes ... I look forward to hearing from you later this afternoon ...
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

  Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2007, 03:50 PM   #9
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,320
Greetings ChadT ...

click this link to reach the User Manual for the 1771-IFE/B analog input module ... the chart that we talked about on the phone is on page 5-1 ... it shows the status bits from the first four words of the Block Transfer Read's data file - and also that the signal data from Channel #1 is located in the FIFTH word of the file ...

click this link to reach the User Manual for the 1771-OFE analog output module ...

I enjoyed working with you ...
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

  Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2007, 01:19 PM   #10
ChadT
Member
United States

ChadT is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spartanburg
Posts: 4
PLC5/20 Analog I/O

I would to thank all who have replied to my questions. Most of all I would like to than Ron Beaufort for taking time from his busy schedule and walking me through step by step of configuring 1771-IFE and 1771-OFE2 cards. In my opinion he his A+ programer and teacher. Not only did he walk me through the steps but he explained in detail why things were configured the way they were.

First, I had to go to my process status and on my switches tab I made sure what my addressing mode was one slot. I then looked at the position the cards were in the rack and that told me that my BTR and BTW was addressed as:1771-IFE module would be located in Rack 01, Group 0, and it would be Module 0 and my 1171-OFE module would be located in Rack 01, Group 1, and it would be Module 0 ...



After, I figured this out I went to my IO Configuration and chaged a few things



  Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2007, 01:19 PM   #11
ChadT
Member
United States

ChadT is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spartanburg
Posts: 4
PLC5/20 Analog I/O

I would to thank all who have replied to my questions. Most of all I would like to than Ron Beaufort for taking time from his busy schedule and walking me through step by step of configuring 1771-IFE and 1771-OFE2 cards. In my opinion he his A+ programer and teacher. Not only did he walk me through the steps but he explained in detail why things were configured the way they were.

First, I had to go to my process status and on my switches tab I made sure what my addressing mode was one slot. I then looked at the position the cards were in the rack and that told me that my BTR and BTW was addressed as:1771-IFE module would be located in Rack 01, Group 0, and it would be Module 0 and my 1171-OFE module would be located in Rack 01, Group 1, and it would be Module 0 ...



After, I figured this out I went to my IO Configuration and chaged a few things



  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controllogix elledge LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 43 February 12th, 2014 03:55 AM
MicroLogix 1000 Analog I/O omars LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 August 7th, 2012 07:19 PM
How to calibrate a load cell & how to program mitsubishi plc for analog input M. HASSAN LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 19th, 2005 06:10 AM
analog I/O PLCgirl LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 February 18th, 2003 08:56 AM
Connecting self-powered analog signal to Moore PLC shyampv LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 13th, 2002 09:49 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.


.