You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 9th, 2017, 04:35 AM   #1
jamesnie
Member
United Kingdom

jamesnie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Blackburn
Posts: 6
1756-L61 (F/W 1.4) Issue

I'm pretty inexperienced with Logix5000 stuff so im having trouble trying to get this to even power up properly.

When i stick the 1756-L61 into the rack and power on, I get the OK LED on SOLID red, and have no communications with it whatsover. I cant even comm with it to update the firmware.

Tried:
Blank CF Card.
RS232 Comm lead.
USB UIC-232 adapter
ControlFLASH
EtherNET/IP in rack.


Can anyone point me in the right direction
  Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2017, 05:58 AM   #2
jstolaruk
Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,135
Welcome to the forum.

That processor may be toast. see page 198.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2017, 07:01 AM   #3
JohnCalderwood
Member
Scotland

JohnCalderwood is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Stirling
Posts: 530
Aye, it could be toast.

if it is new, get it back to the supplier.

If not, you have a new doorstop....
  Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2017, 07:48 AM   #4
jamesnie
Member
United Kingdom

jamesnie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Blackburn
Posts: 6
Unfortunately, this is what i was thinking.

It's something we have sold and was just to be tested before sending it, we had another one in stock and it does exactly the same thing

Thanks guys!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2017, 08:14 AM   #5
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 5,376
1. can you see it at all in RSLinx? ...

2. if you can see it in RSLinx, does it list a catalog number? ...
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.

  Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2017, 12:37 PM   #6
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,734
Quote:
we had another one in stock and it does exactly the same thing
(1) You've got a damaged backplane or network module that's causing the controller to hard-fault. Try putting the CPU into a different chassis, or bring it to your local Rockwell distributor to test in one of their demos.

(2) You somehow managed to buy two controllers that were defective out of the box.

(3) Somebody is buying defective controllers on the gray market and putting them into your stock.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2017, 01:07 AM   #7
jamesnie
Member
United Kingdom

jamesnie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Blackburn
Posts: 6
Thanks guys, our stock usually consists of stuff from shut down factory auctions, but i have no idea where it came from really. We've decided to just buy a new one.

Also: None of them were seen in RSLinx, and the backplane is good as it has a Logix5555 in there which runs perfectly, but all is sorted now anyway.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2017, 02:22 AM   #8
mamezcua8201
Member
United States

mamezcua8201 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: kansas
Posts: 4
did the new one work?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2017, 02:30 AM   #9
jamesnie
Member
United Kingdom

jamesnie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Blackburn
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamezcua8201 View Post
did the new one work?
I will update when we get it. not even sure if its been ordered yet, i dont personally deal with the purchasing dept. But if it has the same issue, ill assume its me doing something wrong and ill be back to pick brains. (for knowledge, not because im a zombie)
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2017, 02:39 AM   #10
mamezcua8201
Member
United States

mamezcua8201 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: kansas
Posts: 4
so when you set up the rs232 driver in rslinx you could not get it to communicate?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2017, 03:05 AM   #11
jamesnie
Member
United Kingdom

jamesnie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Blackburn
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamezcua8201 View Post
so when you set up the rs232 driver in rslinx you could not get it to communicate?
Exactly that my friend

Powered up OK LED solid red, no comms with rs232.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2017, 03:07 AM   #12
mamezcua8201
Member
United States

mamezcua8201 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: kansas
Posts: 4
Hmm are you sure your cable is not bad ive haf many cables go bad and make sure you are plugged into the correct comm that it is configured for
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kinetix 6000 mapc issue rhys_m LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 June 4th, 2016 04:58 PM
[Logix] Intermittent comms issue (ethernet/ip) between Control and Compact Logix PLCs defcon.klaxon LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 February 4th, 2016 05:00 PM
Factory Talk SE Trending issue snordvikqplas LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 24th, 2015 09:15 AM
PanelViewplus F/W Ver 8 screen resolution & boot up issue Eoghan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 7th, 2014 03:50 AM
Producer / Consumer Issue Dalesey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 3rd, 2012 07:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.


.