You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 26th, 2017, 02:52 PM   #1
abishur
Member
United States

abishur is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 45
cellular data usage

I'm trying to calculate how much data I might need. Rather than monitoring a remote device, I need to be able to connect to the PLC (either an Allen-Bradley CompactLogix or a Schneider-Electric M340)over a cell modem using the programming software (RSLogix5000 or Unity). Has anyone done this in the past who could estimate how much data is used while being connected to a PLC by the programming software?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2017, 03:42 PM   #2
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,488
http://control.com/thread/1333755180

http://iatip.blogspot.ca/

The above threads may help you out.
Regards,
__________________
Garry
http://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2017, 04:10 PM   #3
abishur
Member
United States

abishur is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 45
Those links do a good job breaking down costs when using a cell modem to monitor a PLC from an HMI, but not so much the data used by the programming software.

I have access to some Schneider PLCs so I used Netlimiter 4 to do some active tests and see the data I used and discovered the following (If anyone could do this same kind of test using a Rockwell PLC and RSLogix 5000, I'd be very thankful):

1)When doing a slightly exaggerated number of compiles, 25 MB an hour is a fairly reasonable estimation of data use.

2) The more data shown on the screen (i.e. if you're zoomed out) the more data Unity will use (showing a reasonable amount of data resulted in ~3.04 KB/s UP from the PLC and 709 B/S DOWN to the PLC, whereas showing an entire FBD section with lots of data was practically 7 KB/s UP from the PLC!)

3)Sections sitting in the background consume Data!

4)Closing unused screens and turning off

5) Animation Tables used less data than the same amount of objects being viewed within a section. (1.6 KB/s in the actual section and 970 B/s in the animation table.

So if I left the animations off as much as possible, kept only 1 section open at a time, and grouped my compiles together when possible I could shave a good deal off the 25 MB/hr, but who's actually going to do that?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSLinx OPC to OSI PI - Reading Data Options civicseth LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 12th, 2017 03:19 PM
OT: Remote Desktop vs VPN data usage ASF LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 November 30th, 2014 05:38 PM
Easy Veiw Data Logger To SLC500 ian.smith7 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 21st, 2014 11:12 AM
Help me CIP read data fail from control LGX (1756-enbt)) chenhg LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 27th, 2008 05:31 AM
Confused "again" S7 indirect Thim LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 July 22nd, 2008 04:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 PM.


.