You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 3rd, 2017, 12:15 PM   #1
Aggregateman
Member
United States

Aggregateman is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: michigan
Posts: 23
Keep FTVIEW alarms active after Alarm state has passed

Hi everyone! I have Panelview plus that is attached to a compactlogix controller, and I would like to use the built in alarms feature in view studio to place a pop up message on the HMI when someone hits any of the 6 different stop buttons along our feed line, I have it set up and it works, but the moment the stop button is released the alarm disappears, I want the alarm message to stay active until someone sees it. Is there a simple way to do this? Or do I need to make my own alarm system latching and unlatching tags.

It is set up to monitor a set of tags, IE, someone presses stop_1, it turns on a tag stop_alm_1 and stop_alm_1 is what the FTVIEW alarms manager is monitoring.

I can provide any more information needed, just ask.
Thanks! I appreciate the help!
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2017, 01:19 AM   #2
ianingram
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ianingram is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aggregateman View Post
Hi everyone! I have Panelview plus that is attached to a compactlogix controller, and I would like to use the built in alarms feature in view studio to place a pop up message on the HMI when someone hits any of the 6 different stop buttons along our feed line, I have it set up and it works, but the moment the stop button is released the alarm disappears, I want the alarm message to stay active until someone sees it. Is there a simple way to do this? Or do I need to make my own alarm system latching and unlatching tags.

It is set up to monitor a set of tags, IE, someone presses stop_1, it turns on a tag stop_alm_1 and stop_alm_1 is what the FTVIEW alarms manager is monitoring.

I can provide any more information needed, just ask.
Thanks! I appreciate the help!
I noticed that no one else had replied, so I thought that I would give my ideas.

Firstly, an e-stop alarm should set an alarm latch in the PLC.

Secondly, releasing the e-stop button should not affect this alarm latch (ie the alarm should stay latched when the button is released)

Thirdly, a reset signal from somewhere(?), like a pushbutton or a button on the HMI should be used to un-latch the alarm before running the equipment again.

So, the alarm message could be displayed until it is properly reset.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2017, 07:59 AM   #3
cwal61
Member
United States

cwal61 is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 906
You Could Consider Creating An Alarm History Page. Aka. Alarm List. This Would Allow You To Save And View All Alarms That Happen. If You Look Under Alarm Setup, Trigger Tab, You Will See Optional Trigger Connections. One Of Those Connections Is Remote Ack. You Can Assign A Tag That Allows The PLC To Trigger The Acknowledge Time Shown In The Alarm List. That Way You Have A Timestamp Of Each Event. Alarm Active And Alarm Clear. I Like To Activate The Clear Signal For 1 Second To Allow The Hmi To See It. So I Created A Subroutine Called Alarm Clear. The Logic Is Basic.
If Alarm Not Active Then One Shot And Latch An Alarm Clear Bit. Use The Alarm Clear Bit To Run A Timer For 1 Second. When The Alarm Clear Timer Is Done Unlatch The Alarm Clear Bit.

There Is Also The Alarm Status List. This Will Give You Information On How Many Times An Alarm Happened And The Accumulated Time For All Events. You Will Find These Alarms Screens Under Objects>Advanced>Alarm

There Are Also Examples In The Library Folder Of Alarm Displays That You Can Copy Paste. [History] , [Status] They Have All The Buttons Already On Them. I Personally Don't Use All Those Buttons But You Could Still Copy Those Displays And Delete The Buttons You Don't Need.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2017, 08:05 AM   #4
BlueAltezza
Member
United States

BlueAltezza is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 138
Is the alarm pop up disappearing, the message disappearing, or both once the stop button is released?

If the banner is disappearing you'll have to latch the visibility bit in the plc for it.

If the message is disappearing you can alter the alarm list settings - go to "Display"
The "Active and unacknowledged" will only display the active bits in the PLC.
Using the other 3 conditions will help you achieve your goal, but you'll have to use additional alarm buttons to clear, silence, acknowledge, etc. All depends on how you want everything to work so it will take a little experimenting.

If you have to latch the visibility bit, it might just be easier to latch all of your stop alarm conditions as well. This forces the operator to press a reset button
  Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2017, 01:06 PM   #5
arlenjacobs
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

arlenjacobs is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 602
Using bit logic in the PLC is a good idea, as the other three posts have already said.
Once the alarm (stop button) is cleared, you have no record of that ever occurring in the PLC. Imagine if the button was pressed and cleared very quickly, the HMI might not see that change.


If you are using the alarm banner object (FTView ME has 3 alarm objects) then enable the "Display Inactive Alarms" option

Otherwise, the banner will be empty if no alarms are active.
Attached Images
File Type: png DisplayInactiveAlarms.png (4.2 KB, 31 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2017, 09:02 AM   #6
cwal61
Member
United States

cwal61 is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 906
The [ALARM] Banner That Pops up if used also has a Remote Close Tag located under the Advanced Tab in Alarm Setup. If you create logic to determine no faults exist then this connection will automatically close the pop up screen. This way you will not be looking at blank screen. Just to clarify you must check the display box in the Message tab to display alarm messages on the pop up banner and You must also check the box for Alarms in the Startup options.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Remote Close Alarm.jpg (44.7 KB, 16 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
State machines in ST (Siemens SCL) bara_hence LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 April 9th, 2010 02:06 PM
need opinion's on this progamming style eastkodakguy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 February 24th, 2004 03:30 PM
Planning for Troubleshooting TimothyMoulder LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 April 2nd, 2003 10:21 PM
Normally open or closed or... Phil Melore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 February 3rd, 2003 07:14 PM
Sequential state machines kebaldwin LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 January 1st, 2003 08:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


.