You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 4th, 2017, 03:05 PM   #16
Diana
Member
Canada

Diana is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 12
that is what I am suspecting.

From this input, I want to see the maximum amplitude that the positive pulse reaches. (or at least if it is above an amplitude I set)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2017, 03:08 PM   #17
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,120
Where is this analog input coming from. Why is an analog input pulsing?

I agree with Bit Bucket 07 this is not a scan time issue, it's a analog input card's update issue.
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2017, 03:14 PM   #18
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,647
Important question: what is the frequency of this pulsed input?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2017, 03:38 PM   #19
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,858
The PLC scan time is usually under 10ms for that model, but the analog input update time might be around 100ms (wag from memory).

EDIT: On the expansion module advanced configuration you can adjust filter settings which affect update times. The fastest for a 1762-IF4 will be 130ms and can be as slow as 530ms. The default is 450ms.

What is the duration of the pulse?

Also, can you share your logic? (zip it and attach to a post)
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

Last edited by OkiePC; December 4th, 2017 at 04:14 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2017, 06:28 AM   #20
Diana
Member
Canada

Diana is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ontario
Posts: 12
that would explain then - the total period is only about 200ms. So my positive pulse is about 100ms. I'm surprised it works as often as it does!

thank-you everyone for your help on this matter! I will have to find a workaround.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any idea how to access the Omron simulator? strantor LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 March 13th, 2015 06:01 PM
Multiple Controllers Read Same Tag kingnutin LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 July 23rd, 2014 12:56 PM
Tuning Interactive (series) Pressure Loops Jiftim LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 27th, 2014 04:53 PM
WinCC Continuous CSV read SYED.ABIDI LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 March 23rd, 2013 11:05 PM
how to read more data in a packet by CIP read data service(4C) chenhg LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 October 7th, 2008 03:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.


.