You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 4th, 2017, 12:04 PM   #1
PerryMB
Member
United States

PerryMB is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
1769-AENTR Fault Control

I have 1769-L35E CompactLogix controller communicating to two 1769-AENTR. While testing, I can pull the Ethernet cable and I get a major fault. Does anyone know of way to turn this feature off so I can use logic to determine if I have a communication problem?

Thanks,
  Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2017, 12:16 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,716
Welcome to the PLCTalk Forum community !

Look at the Connection tab for the 1769-AENTR in the Studio 5000 I/O tree. There is a checkbox for "Major Fault on Controller if Connection Fails in Run Mode".

It's probably checked in your system, so un-check it. You can do so online in Run mode.

Have a look through the Forum or the RA Knowledgebase on how to use GSV instructions to detect I/O connection status.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2017, 12:16 PM   #3
MarkNightingale
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

MarkNightingale is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: In The VAT Shed
Posts: 612
You need to go to the properties of the module.

Then on the connection tab, untick the box that says major fault on controller.

Cheers

Mark
Attached Images
File Type: png Fault.png (6.5 KB, 61 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2017, 12:17 PM   #4
Robobob
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Robobob is offline
 
Robobob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Toledo
Posts: 200
Double click on the 1769-AENTR in the I/O tree. On the connection tab you can select if you want to Major fault the CPU or not.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.jpg (40.2 KB, 61 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2017, 01:13 PM   #5
PerryMB
Member
United States

PerryMB is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
Thanks for all the replies.

I do have the check boxes unchecked.

  Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2017, 03:00 PM   #6
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is online now
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,716
I don't have direct experience with the 1769-AENTR but I believe that it bridges a module connection to each of the 31 possible connected modules, rather than using a "rack optimized" connection like the 1734-AENT or 1756-ENBT can.

So check the Connection tab for each of the connected 1769 modules connected to each Adapter.

If all that doesn't work, trigger the fault and review the fault code and we'll see if it points us toward a different root cause.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2017, 07:48 AM   #7
PerryMB
Member
United States

PerryMB is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
Ken,

I checked connection tab on each input and output card and they had the Major Fault check. I assume that connection tab on the 1769-AENTR would determine if a fault would happen. You know what they say about assuming.

Thanks for the tip.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2018, 04:14 PM   #8
ronny_resistor
Member
Canada

ronny_resistor is offline
 
ronny_resistor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 106
GSV and AENTR

OK this may or may not be a good place for this question. I have approximately 10 AENTR units and each has a web page that one could look at. I noticed that there are error counters and other really cool information. This is not about that.

So when we start loosing information we would like to see the error counters or information that tells me that the Ethernet connection is about to be dropped out.

With Remote I/O we had a bunch of counters that could be monitored and based on the retry numbers we could say "Clean your wire path"

So with a GSV instruction we can see if a module has failed or if the status of the lights but what about retry counters or missed communication or packet errors, is there a way to read these from my modules ???

Forgot to mention there are sliprings involved and I need a way that lets me know that oxidation is starting to effect my data. Hence "Clean your wire path"
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice regarding reset/clear fault (Motor Fault) backendcode LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 18th, 2017 12:22 PM
Fault In Proximity Sensor! backendcode LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 September 12th, 2017 06:00 AM
How to reset G120 fault over ProfiNet? AdamG8GXP LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 33 September 29th, 2014 11:41 PM
control logix 5000 major fault problem Britt LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 March 29th, 2011 02:55 AM
AB 1336 - fault, parameter defaults and "out of range" mxx LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 25th, 2010 09:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.


.