You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 22nd, 2013, 06:34 PM   #1
Eric Nelson
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Eric Nelson is offline
 
Eric Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 4,346
OT: VideoJet 1520 Trigger Pinout...

I figure someone here might be using VideoJet printers. I'm interfacing to the 'Print Trigger 1' and 'Print Trigger 2 (Reverse Print)' inputs. Connectors #2 and #6 in the attached drawing.

My customer sent me the manual for the printer, but the 'pinouts' section only tells me what connector does what (the same as the sticker on the side of the printer). I need to know the pinout of the actual 3 pin connectors. Since they normally connect to photoelectric sensors, I'm guessing just +V, -V, and signal, but I don't know if it's looking for sinking or sourcing, and which pin is which...

I don't have access to the printer until Monday, but was hoping to wire up my interface this weekend, so I don't have to solder the connectors on site. I already have the correct Amphenol connectors.



-Eric
Attached Images
File Type: jpg VideoJet1520.jpg (40.1 KB, 189 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 10:12 PM   #2
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,983
We use some Videojets, that pinout does not look familiar, probably a different model than ours. I will check Sunday.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 11:08 PM   #3
Eric Nelson
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Eric Nelson is offline
 
Eric Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 4,346
Thanks, Paul. I don't know if the newer VideoJets have different connectors. It has Amphenol C091 circular DIN connectors like pictured below. I'd rather solder them at my desk this weekend, where I can do a proper job, rather than at the customer's place on Monday.

I don't know why they couldn't have just included the pinouts in the manual...



-Eric
Attached Images
File Type: jpg C091 31H003 100 2.jpg (17.1 KB, 181 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2013, 05:38 AM   #4
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,484
Eric, we have 4 Videojet units. I'm not quite sure which models off the top of my head, but looking at a pic of the 1520 it looks very like ours. I've had to make up extension leads for the sensors on the 3pin sockets before. I would have some info in work on it I'm sure but I'm not back in until Monday evening. I live close to my workplace. If you want I can call in and check for you? You posted this about 20mins before I left work last night. If I had seen it you'd be sorted by now

Let me know ASAP.

G.
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2013, 07:41 AM   #5
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,484
Ok Eric, I realised with the time difference you'd be snoring while I'm waiting for your reply, so I called into work here now.

We used to have 1510s, but upgraded to 1610 Videojets in 2011. They have a little more on them than the 1520 you'll be working with, but they appear to be the same for the trigger 1 & 2 connectors(#2 & #6) you need. I have the full service manual on cd with all the pinouts, so I've spliced this pic together for you. You can compare the connector layout to yours. It's slightly different on the 1610, but #2 & #6 are positioned the same. I'll bring the service manual PDF home with me on a flash drive in case I've missed something.

Good morning!

G.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1610 PrintTrigger1+2 Pinouts.jpg (36.5 KB, 200 views)
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2013, 10:25 AM   #6
Eric Nelson
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Eric Nelson is offline
 
Eric Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 4,346
Perfect! That's exactly what I was looking for...

Now the next question. Do you know if the sensor is PNP or NPN? IOW, to turn on the trigger input, does pin 2 need to be pulled high (pin 1), or low (pin 3)?

On this customer's old 37E printers, it was a strange setup. With the sensor unplugged, the input turned ON. I had to add a pull-down resistor to pull the trigger input low, and then my trigger contact pulled it high. I am triggering the printer via an optocoupler.

I'll probably just solder a 3-wire cable on these connectors, so I can connect it as needed when I get to the customer. You info will allow me to at least wire it up with the correct color wires.

Thanks so much for the help!...



-Eric
  Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2013, 03:34 PM   #7
1MoCast
Member
United States

1MoCast is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 24
The input is configurable to sinking or sourcing on the board. I don't recall what the jumper location is ... I might have the service manual on PDF if I get to a PC . We usually hook them up on a dry contact so I check the sensor input wire and if it has 15 V I h.ook up the 0V, if not I use the 15V on the common
  Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2013, 03:37 PM   #8
Geospark
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Geospark is offline
 
Geospark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kildare
Posts: 2,484
Eric, Sorry I was out and about for a while.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Nelson
Now the next question. Do you know if the sensor is PNP or NPN? IOW, to turn on the trigger input, does pin 2 need to be pulled high (pin 1), or low (pin 3)?
As you know, print trigger 1 is an input for a product detector sensor to fire the print head during normal printing(forward). The polarity is optional. You can set it for PNP or NPN. The default is NPN. You change 2 jumpers on a PCB to swap it.

Print trigger 2 is the reverse print input. We don't use this, but according to the manual, its a bi-directional input providing an NPN and PNP connection. A change in state reverses the print direction. It provides "+15VDC"(pin1) for switching back to "Sensor Output"(pin2). There is no mention of a polarity selection option for trigger 2. I assume this means the switching device, your opto, can drive "Sensor Output"(pin2) active high or active low. As there normally is no plug in the connector port, I would assume pin2 is normally low. you drive it high by switching the +15VDC with your opto, it senses the change in state and enables reverse printing.

I've attached a word doc with everything that relates to both triggers in the manual all pulled together to speed things up for you.

I'm also mailing you the full Service Manual to the address you gave me in PM.

Eric, I'm going out for the night to see a band so I won't be around again until the morning, late morning!

Good luck

G.
Attached Files
File Type: doc Print Trigger 1 & 2.doc (473.0 KB, 132 views)
__________________
"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men".
  Reply With Quote
Old March 23rd, 2013, 05:20 PM   #9
Eric Nelson
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Eric Nelson is offline
 
Eric Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 4,346
Thanks for everything guys, and on a weekend, no less! I now have all the info I need...



-Eric
  Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2015, 08:26 AM   #10
Meidi
Member
Indonesia

Meidi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Batam
Posts: 3
Videojet 1520 user service

Hi, anyone have user service for videojet 1520 or alarm output pin
  Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2015, 07:52 PM   #11
Eric Nelson
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Eric Nelson is offline
 
Eric Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 4,346
From the 1610 manual, but it should be applicable to the 1520.



-Eric
Attached Images
File Type: jpg description.jpg (47.3 KB, 44 views)
File Type: jpg pinouts.jpg (39.7 KB, 43 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2015, 08:03 PM   #12
Meidi
Member
Indonesia

Meidi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Batam
Posts: 3
Thanks a lot eric for your help
  Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2015, 08:48 PM   #13
Meidi
Member
Indonesia

Meidi is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Batam
Posts: 3
Dear eric, I don't know that's service book 1520 same as 1610, thanks eric for your information.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2017, 01:44 PM   #14
wdriscoll
Member
United States

wdriscoll is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: hagerstown md
Posts: 2
video jet 1650 encoder pin out diagram

Anyone have the pinout for the encoder plug on the 1650
  Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2017, 01:44 PM   #15
wdriscoll
Member
United States

wdriscoll is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: hagerstown md
Posts: 2
4 pin
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Lion and Serial Trigger for Microscan Damaged LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 March 14th, 2012 09:13 PM
FactoryTalk View ME Bit-Array Alarm Trigger w/ DeviceNet ogimoj LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 January 6th, 2009 11:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 AM.


.