You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 11th, 2017, 07:17 PM   #1
Paulx_42
Member
United States

Paulx_42 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: washington
Posts: 3
Pausing a timer in Crimson 3.0 software

Hello,
I am new to the forum. I have been using the Redlion Crimson 3.0 software for about 3 years. I have never had any luck pausing a timer. I have incremented and decremented timers but can't figure out how to pause one. I have a temperature that i am watching and if it drops by 2 degrees I want the timer to stop where it is until the temperature gets back up to where it should be then start the timer again. I have been working on taking a snap shot of the time and saving it, then reload that value back into the timer but it seems pretty cumbersome. Has anyone ever tried to pause a timer?

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2017, 08:23 PM   #2
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,836
Are you doing all this logic in a Red Lion? This is really a job for a retentive timer in a PLC. Tell us more about the specific hardware you are using.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2017, 10:03 AM   #3
Paulx_42
Member
United States

Paulx_42 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: washington
Posts: 3
I agree that retentive timers in a PLC would be great. That is not an option at the moment. I am using a Graphite HMI, a Thermocouple input card, a discrete in/out card and 1 universal input card for an oven temperature. I am in the process or checking all the timers that come as part of the Crimson Control module that allow Ladder Logic, Function block and structured text program languages to see if they have anything like a retentive timer.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2017, 06:57 PM   #4
Paulx_42
Member
United States

Paulx_42 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: washington
Posts: 3
Ok, FYI, I have found a timer similar to a retentive timer in the Crimson Control module functions. It is called a TMD. It is a countdown timer that stops when the input goes false. It has a reset input to put the counter back when it has finished.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RedLion Crimson 3.0 Help DavidD93 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 10th, 2017 09:48 AM
Crimson 3.0 Bug? berndu86 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 13th, 2015 07:14 PM
Crimson 3.0 - Automatic Login? Casby LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 March 16th, 2015 05:38 PM
Crimson 3.0 V.S. Crimson 2.0 DamianInRochester LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 January 24th, 2012 10:58 AM
DLO6 - Timer Woes DL06 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 42 March 5th, 2006 10:01 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 AM.


.