You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 25th, 2017, 09:51 PM   #1
Saulo35
Member
Canada

Saulo35 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Coquitlam
Posts: 75
Crimson 3.0 Emulator and Windows 64-bit

Hi,

Has anybody had any luck running RedLion's Crimson 3.0's Emulator under a 64-bit Windows (7, 8.1 or 10)?

Thank you
  Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2017, 07:05 AM   #2
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,864
I run it on Windows 7 Pro 64 bit and 32 bit. I am running build 700
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2017, 04:13 PM   #3
Saulo35
Member
Canada

Saulo35 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Coquitlam
Posts: 75
Thank you, OkiePC, glad to hear that.

I am using Windows 7 Professional, Crimson 3.0 Build 702.004, and I get the following messages when I invoke the Emulator:

Download Database via Emulator Connection
Status
ERROR - Timeout waiting for reply frame.
Do not power off the target device during this process.
Close


or

Download Database via Emulator Connection
Status
ERROR - Unable to open communications port.
Do not power off the target device during this process.
Close


And then, I get:

Emulator Executable
Emulator Executable has stopped working
A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.
Debug
Close program


Would you have any suggestions?
Thank you
  Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2017, 05:05 PM   #4
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saulo35 View Post
Thank you, OkiePC, glad to hear that.

I am using Windows 7 Professional, Crimson 3.0 Build 702.004, and I get the following messages when I invoke the Emulator:

Download Database via Emulator Connection
Status
ERROR - Timeout waiting for reply frame.
Do not power off the target device during this process.
Close
Wait a full 3 seconds, click abort, click send (lightning bolt icon)

Quote:
or

Download Database via Emulator Connection
Status
ERROR - Unable to open communications port.
Do not power off the target device during this process.
Close
Same as above, except I think it is best to bring focus to the emulator screen and hit escape...then send update again, get the first error, wait 3 seconds, abort, send again...

Quote:
And then, I get:

Emulator Executable
Emulator Executable has stopped working
A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.
Debug
Close program


Would you have any suggestions?
Thank you
Open task manager > processes, kill g3sim.exe.

Try again. if it bombs out again, kill it again in task manager, then in Crimson go into Link > Options > Under "Panel Emulation" click Configure > Under Emulator Memory Image click "Delete Files", then repeat your attempt to run the emulator.

I have not used the emulator much recently with RSLogix 5000 drivers/PACs, but I use it daily with Micrologix/SLC PLCs. I do have to put up with the 3 seconds delay and resend to use it effectively, but if I don't try to rush, and wait the full 3 seconds, then abort and send again I very rarely ever have the g3sim.exe lock up and have to kill it manually, but once in a while, it still happens.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.

Last edited by OkiePC; December 26th, 2017 at 05:09 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2017, 07:32 PM   #5
Saulo35
Member
Canada

Saulo35 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Coquitlam
Posts: 75
The error happens too fast to allow for 3 seconds before hitting "Abort". I had forgot about the "Delete Files" option, so I experimented with it. I would delete files every time, and when clicking on the lighting bolt (Update), the application would load "Item xxx" etc, rapidly changing numbers, but when it reached "Starting Application" the program would crash. Over and over. Both under Win 7 Pro and Win 8.1 (in a WM).

Then I thought about the application itself. I created a blank application with just one tag and one display, and it worked! Every time! With no tricks whatsoever!

So, now I guess I have to dismantle my application one piece at a time and see what part prevents the Emulator from running.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2017, 12:49 PM   #6
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,864
Well just yesterday I was working on a Crimson file for a PLC-5 with a serial driver and ran into the problem with the emulator crashing. I wanted to compare my new HMI with the old PV1200 before we removed the old unit. So I used the emulator in my laptop to do this comparison.

While I was running the emulator with the serial port mapped through a USB to serial converter connected to the PLC, the emulator would crash each time I tried to send an update to it. It did not matter if I stopped the emulator first. Each time I made a change, I had to stop the g3sim.exe file, delete the emulator files, then send it again and it would work.

This procedure added a few seconds to my chore each time I wanted to test a change. Nothing was necessarily wrong with my file, but it still caused issues with the emulator hanging up. Once I got through with my testing and installed the real hardware I did find a couple of addresses in my tags that did not exist in the PLC-5. This caused the screen to update very slowly (probably waiting on the driver to process errors from those non-existent tags). Once I deleted/corrected those stray tag addresses, the speed of the HMI was fine. I don't know if this is related to why the emulator crashed, just a tidbit to think about.

Anyway, another thing for your situation is that you can open two instances of Crimson 3 and drag and drop pieces from the problem child to the fresh application in order to save time tracking down the cause of your issues.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 12:06 AM   #7
Saulo35
Member
Canada

Saulo35 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Coquitlam
Posts: 75
Thank you again, OkiePC. Thank you for the tip about running two instances of Crimson 3.0 and copy/paste. That works wonderfully. In the end, it came down to donwgrading the driver from "Allen-Bradley Native Tags via L5K file Enhanced 2.01" to "Allen-Bradley Native Tags via L5K file 1.04". It does not run every time, but once in a while I have to manually end the g3sim.exe process. All of the above under Windows 8.1, under WMware.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.


.