You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 21st, 2017, 04:02 PM   #1
sparkytex
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

sparkytex is offline
 
sparkytex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Port Hardy B.C.
Posts: 300
Help with Configuring Eaton Drive on DeviceNet

Hey guys,

I recently had to change out an old eaton drive from our WWTP with a newer DG1 Eaton drive. I had to install a DXG-Net-Device net option card onto the drive. I have set a MAC ID Address on the Drive (16) and chosen the POLL type assembly 21/71 for I/O parameters. These I/O parameters match up with the old Drives I/O parameters .
I have set up the device using RSNetworkx and have downloaded the DG1 drive EDS file from eaton.com to the drive and can successfully see the device net card on RSNetworx and the EDS file under properties.

My issue is I cannot get the PLC to talk with the drive, no command what so ever. My guess is that the RSLogix 5000 programming for the old drive does not match or isn't addressed correctly to talk to the new drive. The Motor is P110 influent pump which uses "LocalS4_N50_POL_O.Data[0]" for output commands and "LocalS4_N50_POL_I.Data[0]" for inputs from the drive. I need to get this Drive talking with the PLC so the operators can use it in Auto with their HMI station.

I'll attach a copy of the PLC program with some screen shots. If anyone has experience with DeviceNet and commissioning drives with them I would be very appreciative for some help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DeviceNet2.JPG (52.7 KB, 7 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip Tritech_Compactlogix.zip (443.6 KB, 3 views)
__________________
Waste Water Automation and Control
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 04:04 PM   #2
sparkytex
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

sparkytex is offline
 
sparkytex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Port Hardy B.C.
Posts: 300
Forgot to add this picture as well
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DeviceNet3.jpg (59.2 KB, 48 views)
__________________
Waste Water Automation and Control
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 04:08 PM   #3
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,292
That RSNetworx project looks like it doesn't have the Scanlist in it; all the devices are either "not slaves" or are "slaves without masters".

You need to upload the Scanlist from the 1769-SDN and look at where the Node 16 device is Mapped (and make sure it's the same as the old device).
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 04:15 PM   #4
sparkytex
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

sparkytex is offline
 
sparkytex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Port Hardy B.C.
Posts: 300
Kenb,

I recently had to download RSNetworkx to this laptop. All of the DeviceNet was previously set up with a programmers computer and different version of RSNetworkx. When I clicked on the Scanner module and uploaded this was the next screen I got. Where do I go from here?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DeviceNet4.JPG (67.4 KB, 46 views)
__________________
Waste Water Automation and Control
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 04:22 PM   #5
sparkytex
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

sparkytex is offline
 
sparkytex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Port Hardy B.C.
Posts: 300
By the looks of it this device (16) hasn't been downloaded to the scanner and all of the I/O remains unmapped. When I look under the Scanner Module Inputs and Outputs Node 16 doesn't appear but the other do. Forgive me but I've had very little experience with DeviceNet and RSNetworx but I'm willing to learn

** EDIT

I'd love to even talk with someone over the phone about this. I realize you have to put node 16 onto the scan list and most likely download to the DN Scanner. My concerns are of course download bad upload good kind of mentality. Because this Version of RSNetworx is newly downloaded to this new laptop and doesn't have all the devices recognized I'm hesitant to download to the DN scanner just in case I download unrecognized devices onto the scanner and completely screw the other devices that are currently working just fine on the DN Scanner. Like I said I'd love to have a phone call with anyone willing to provide me with some details on this.
__________________
Waste Water Automation and Control

Last edited by sparkytex; December 21st, 2017 at 04:51 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 05:29 PM   #6
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,292
Quote:
just in case I download unrecognized devices onto the scanner and completely screw the other devices that are currently working just fine on the DN Scanner.
You are wise to be concerned about this outcome. Transitioning between a correctly configured workstation and a fresh one often causes unpleasantness like deleted scanlist entries and default parameter downloads.

Any chance you can set up TeamViewer or Google Remote Desktop on that computer ?

The first step is to get the Electronic Data Sheet files for those "unknown" devices.

Right-click in RSLinx Classic (not even in RSNetworx for DeviceNet) to read the Identity objects of those things so we can find the right vendor, device, and revision.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 05:53 PM   #7
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,292
Another thing to think about: the "LocalS4_N50_POL_O.Data[0]" structure shows that somebody ran the "DeviceNet Automatic Code Generator" to create a couple of Input and Output data handling routines.

So the data that's "mapped" into the DeviceNet scanner module isn't used in its raw format: it's run through this automatically generated abstraction code.


What "LocalS4_N50_POL_O.Data[0]" is telling you is that you're addressing a DeviceNet Scanner in the local chassis, in Slot 4, and that's the Polled I/O data from Node 50.

But wait... you said this drive was at DeviceNet node number 16.

Could that have been a typo or telephone error ? "Fifty" sounds like "Sixteen" when there's an air compressor running in the background.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 07:17 PM   #8
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,292
Invalid Slave vs. Removed from Configuration

I'd like to offer a little bit of information about those unrecognized devices.

When a device doesn't have an Electronic Data Sheet (EDS) file registered on your computer, RSLinx and RSNetworx can't recognize what it is.

While you can create a bare-bones "stub" EDS for a device, in general RSNetworx cannot adjust its parameters, or insert it into a scanlist, or configure its settings until it knows what it is and what features it supports.

That's what the software is trying to tell you when it describes those devices as "Invalid Slaves".

The other major thing to be careful with is when you do find the EDS files for those devices. All of a sudden they'll show up in RSNetworx with an icon.

But RSNetworx will only know what they are. They won't know anything else about their internal settings. If you were to "download" to one of them, RSNetworx would write the default settings from the EDS file into it. That's bad when you have a device that needs to be set up for a particular purpose, like a motor overload or VFD. Even something simple like an analog input module would end up with default values, like 0-10V scaling, while the desired setup might be 4-20 mA.

So once you do get the EDS files registered for those, be sure to "upload" the values from them.

The "Removed from Configuration" is a label that's specific to the 1769-SDN Scanlist. The 1769-SDN knows that a particular device at that node number is in the scanlist, but it doesn't appear in the project file.

That usually appears when a device has literally been removed from the system, but you can also get it when the device was simply turned off at the time that the RSNetworx for DeviceNet file was created from scratch by scanning the network and uploading from the recognizable devices.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 21st, 2017, 07:22 PM   #9
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,292
Old stuff and New Stuff

I noticed that the *.ACD file you posted is Version 15 of RSLogix 5000. That's about 10 years old, so there have been some changes to related software.

In particular, RSLinx Classic and RSNetworx for DeviceNet both took a jump to a new way of managing EDS files (SQL, not Windows Registry) about the same time as Studio 5000 went to v21.

So don't install RSLinx Classic v3.x, or RSNetworx for DeviceNet v21, unless you install them BOTH.

I'm mentioning this because sometimes when there are problems to solve, folks instinctively install the newest version of the software they're troubleshooting.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 25th, 2017, 03:31 PM   #10
sparkytex
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

sparkytex is offline
 
sparkytex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Port Hardy B.C.
Posts: 300
Thanks for the info Ken,

The reason the MAC ID for the eaton drive is 16 is simply because that's what I set it at fooling around. Had I known that N50 was specifically going to poll data from node 50 I would have set the drives Mac ID at 50 instead of 16. I'll do what you set and hop online with RSLogix and find out what the devices are. Everything in the MCC is basically run off of device net with a Smart disconnect switch that controls the contactor. I know these have since been discontinued so I'm hoping I can still find the EDS file for these devices.

I'm using RSNetworx version 24 and not entirely sure what version of RSlinx since I did not download it to the laptop. The system SCADA system was created over 10 years ago and is quite complicated for how simple of a system was actually needed. Since I have zero DN experience this system always proves troublesome for me. I really need to take a course in DN through automationtraining.ca since they offer it at a reasonable price.

Once I discover the devices I'll see about registering the devices with an EDS file that matches so RSNetworks and see the device. I'm sure i'll have many more questions.

Merry Christmas Ken,

Tex
__________________
Waste Water Automation and Control
  Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2017, 03:21 PM   #11
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 14,292
This topic was rattling around in my head over the weekend and I wanted to add some thoughts.

You mentioned that the new Eaton DG1 drive's Polled I/O assemblies were set up for "21/71" to match the older drive. That's good !

I/O Assemblies 20 and 70, and I/O Assemblies 21 and 71 are standard ODVA data assemblies for AC drives, called a "Generic Drive Profile". They were created for exactly this sort of situation where a newer device replaced an older device.

Because the bits and words always mean the same thing in Assembly 21 and Assembly 71, you can use a modern drive to replace one from fifteen years ago, or even switch vendors as long as they support those same Assemblies.

The gotcha may be that your I/O Connection in the DeviceNet Scanlist is set up with Electronic Keying to require that the device be the exact same Vendor, Device Type and Product Code.

Typically, Product Code would be different for a DG1 drive versus an older drive, even if they both are encoded to be Cutler-Hammer (vendor) AC Drives (Device Type). Product Code is generally also different for different voltage (240 vs. 480 v 575) or amperage capacity drives. The goal is to have secondary methods for preventing the wrong device from being controlled just because a Network Address was put in wrong.


But in your case it might be that all you need to do is set the MAC ID on the drive to 50, then edit the DeviceNet Scanlist to un-check the Electronic Keying entries for that drive. No re-mapping or other fussing around necessary.

Modern 1756-DNB modules (v7.001 or later firmware) and 1747-SDN (Series D 9.001 and later) even let you do that edit in RUN mode.

It's still a good idea to get all the device EDS files registered, and make sure you are able to upload all the configurations from all the devices, especially the DeviceNet Scanner, before proceeding.

Last edited by Ken Roach; December 27th, 2017 at 03:23 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rsnetworx For Devicenet Drive Issue halla26 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 22nd, 2017 02:29 PM
Siemens Micromaster 440 Drive with DeviceNet and Omron NSJ8 Release LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 February 16th, 2010 09:16 PM
AB 1769L35E to Ultra 3000i Servo Drive DeviceNet error 91 ChrisPulman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 14th, 2010 01:17 PM
AB MO2AE & Yaskawa SGM drive kenschunk LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 23rd, 2006 08:25 PM
Off topic - personal rant!! PLucas LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 September 9th, 2002 09:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.


.