You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 8th, 2007, 06:32 AM   #1
The Apprentice
Member
Australia

The Apprentice is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NSW
Posts: 2
Unhappy rsview studio application retore error

Hi there, has anyone encountered the following message when trying to restore a .apa file in RS View application manager:
"Unable to restore application...... Please check that:
there is sufficient disk space
the applocation is not open elsewhere
the destination application does not already exist"

I do not have any of the suugested probelms in the computer. Someone did menton to me that this problem could be as a result of incorrect installation sequence of the rsview, but I have followed the installation procedures on disk.

Please help!
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2007, 06:36 AM   #2
rPraveenkum
Member
India

rPraveenkum is offline
 
rPraveenkum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 876
RSLinx Enterprise was not installed


http://rockwellautomation.custhelp.c...i=&p_topview=1
__________________
.................................................. .................................................. ..........................................
.................................................. .................................................. ..........................................
PRAVEEN KUMAR
http://www.praveen.envy.nu
Life is like butterfly, handle with care - Praveen

Last edited by rPraveenkum; May 8th, 2007 at 06:40 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2007, 06:42 AM   #3
The Apprentice
Member
Australia

The Apprentice is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NSW
Posts: 2
Thank you very much Praveen Kumar. Your solution has fixed a problem i was cracking my head on for the last couple of days.

regards,
  Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2008, 01:03 PM   #4
JOLTRON
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

JOLTRON is offline
 
JOLTRON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: MI
Posts: 636
I am having the same issue as stated above. I have tried renaming the file to 8 characters, and no spaces but still get the "unable to restore" alarm. Anyone have any other ideas? Should I try deleting and re- installing?

-Joel
  Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 07:17 AM   #5
hazey
Member
Australia

hazey is offline
 
hazey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 72
Guys I do not have techconnect, could you explain how to fix this problem

thanks

hazey
  Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 03:47 PM   #6
hazey
Member
Australia

hazey is offline
 
hazey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 72
Bump anyone?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 11:03 PM   #7
SMOKE
Member
United States

SMOKE is offline
 
SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: East and West of Kaos
Posts: 475
You should have support with the SE/ME purchase. I have never posted a answer from the knowledgebace before. I am sure I will learn if I did wrong.


Problem:
When trying to restore an APA file, the following error occurred:
"Unable to restore the application tree from <application and path>, please check that there is sufficient disk space, the application is not open else where, the destination application does not already exist."

Solution:

Verify that RSLinx Enterprise is installed in your computer and it is the correct version number for the version of RSView Studio being used.
In the Start Menu, go to the Control Panel-->Add or Remove Programs...
RSLinx Enterprise should be listed under the "Currently Installed Programs"


If RSLinx Enterprise is not installed:

  1. Access the setup.exe in your RSView Machine Edition Installation CD
  2. Select "Install RSView Machine Edition"
  3. Select "Install RSLinx Enterprise"
If RSLinx Enterprise is not the correct version uninstall RSLinx Enterprise then follow the above steps to install the correct version.

I just read this answer, Can't believe it would help anyone.
I had a huge argument about SE with our local rep and stated a huge list of SE problems. Please explain what goes wrong where and when. I might be able to help. It might be as simple as shutting down service, or re-boot.

I Keep editing, sorry, but my hot coals lit up again. When I made reference to ME and SE she told me they were the same platform and what I was saying couldn't be true. (she must know the product well lol) She told me to make the list and she would address each. When I call back with my list I learned she was gone... don't know in what manor. Sorry for going off topic. I last worked for an AB super user like 200 to 500 CLX's and versa views a year I left my desk while they installed the new software. I changed to a steel co that is just starting to do total control It is so fun developing these things. We are going to be a good/wanted AB customer. I wish they would totally support what might become big money for them even if they are not now.

Last edited by SMOKE; November 1st, 2009 at 11:32 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 11:59 PM   #8
Bitmore
Member
United States

Bitmore is offline
 
Bitmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Automation Alley, Oakland County, Michigan
Posts: 477
A proceedure problem does exist. I would suggest that if you want to install HMI developement software that you would select to install the RSLinx Enterprise server for that HMI or, perhaps you could not validate your license. I would think there are alot of people scrambling for that pass around copy disk, good luck.
__________________
"A good scientist is a person with original ideas. A good engineer is a person who makes a design that works with as few original ideas as possible. There are no prima donnas in engineering." Freeman Dyson
  Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2009, 12:37 AM   #9
SMOKE
Member
United States

SMOKE is offline
 
SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: East and West of Kaos
Posts: 475
Quote:
I would think there are alot of people scrambling for that pass around copy disk,
I do not feel this is the case.
but good advice.

Last edited by SMOKE; November 2nd, 2009 at 12:45 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2009, 01:42 AM   #10
hazey
Member
Australia

hazey is offline
 
hazey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 72
Smoke thanks, I knew about the RSlinx enterprise problems. I thought the technote may have some other magic answer.....

This is a customers machine, and I have checked they do have Linx enteprise running (correct version).

I will look further into problem when I get back on site.

Bitmore I am not scrambling for any disk........and never do.

thanks

hazey
  Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2012, 01:06 PM   #11
Super Koop
Member
United States

Super Koop is offline
 
Super Koop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NorCal
Posts: 29
Additional Oportunities, If you have access to a copy of the original program directory.

Create a new project, give it a quick bogus name.
As soon as you enter a character, Note that the "Import" button becomes available.
Click that and browse to the original program directory.
In the Root of the original project directory select the "*.MED" file that represents the project you want to restore.

Hope this helps, twas pulling my hair out....
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2017, 03:51 PM   #12
ckaffer85
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

ckaffer85 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Az
Posts: 37
Hey I'm having the same issue. Did anyone ever find a way to resolve it?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RSVIEW ME Restore Error quasar273 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 16th, 2008 08:32 PM
RSView Studio Application copy kupeyy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 7th, 2007 10:42 PM
RSView Studio v4.00.00 (CPR 7) - strange error! Lasu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 January 11th, 2007 05:46 AM
Test RSView Studio application on a RIO network mulderm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 19th, 2006 03:41 PM
Need help opening RSView Studio ME application SilverLoop LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 29th, 2006 10:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


.