You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 27th, 2015, 11:06 PM   #1
_Gregory
Member
United States

_Gregory is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Wenatchee
Posts: 7
Wonderware DASMBTCP to serial Communications

Hello,

I am in the process of upgrading a SCADA apllication to a windows 7 PC. The issue that i am running into is that Wondeware does not provide a MODBUS Serial driver that is compatible with Windows 7. I am aware of KepServerEX and TopServer but am trying to save on money. Has anyone used a MODBUS TCP\IP to MODBUS Serial converter? and if so how was the DASMBTCP server setup in Wonderware. I am currently trying to communicate with a Zetron RTU 1732 Radio. Any Help would be greatly appreciated.


-Greg
  Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2015, 11:39 PM   #2
D.Chris
Member
Indonesia

D.Chris is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 21
Hi Greg,

A quick google search for setting up the IO server lead me to this manual
http://www.logic-control.com/datashe...20Ethernet.pdf

It's an old revision, but I think the steps are pretty much the same..

For the gateway, our company usually used Moxa.. Not too expensive and never had problem with them so far..

Hope it helps..
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2015, 12:07 AM   #3
_Gregory
Member
United States

_Gregory is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Wenatchee
Posts: 7
Thank you D.Chris,

The manual was helpful, I was looking for a required step and found it. As for the Moxa, is there any specific details that i need prior to purchase? I am new Modbus Serial Protocol. Thanks,

-Greg
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2015, 01:54 AM   #4
D.Chris
Member
Indonesia

D.Chris is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 21
The protocol itself is standard, so all gateway is generally the same. Usually the things to consider is how much masters or slaves that you need, number of ports, connectors, speed, flow control, etc. Sometimes having a mapping feature (you can readdress the data coming from the slaves) is also helpful.

If it's only for a generic use, I believe there's not much to consider in the hardware side.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2015, 07:28 AM   #5
diat150
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

diat150 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,217
I may be wrong but I believe the dasmbtcp only supports modbus tcp, not tcp sockets or encapsulated serial. So you would need to use something that supports true modbus tcp like a lantronix xpress dr or digi one iap. These are usually more expensive than the serial bridges that do just the tcp sockets mode.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2015, 08:03 AM   #6
D.Chris
Member
Indonesia

D.Chris is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Jakarta
Posts: 21
Hmm.. I'm not sure, but I had one project to communicate a woodward easygen controller to wonderware via rs-232. I used DASMBTCP as the IO server with a gateway for that project. Although at that time I'm using prosoft instead of moxa.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2015, 10:07 AM   #7
_Gregory
Member
United States

_Gregory is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Wenatchee
Posts: 7
I was wondering about the Encapsulated serial, I have wonderware pacwest checking to that for me. it is my understanding that if the DASMBTCP does provide encapsulated serial messages than i would need just a Ethernet to serial converter, if not then i would need a device like the Dig one iap.

-Greg
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2015, 10:23 AM   #8
diat150
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

diat150 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,217
that is correct.

also, let us know if you can use mbtcp with tcp sockets.

Last edited by diat150; July 28th, 2015 at 11:04 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2015, 12:40 PM   #9
_Gregory
Member
United States

_Gregory is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Wenatchee
Posts: 7
Not sure on the mbtcp with tcp sockets. It sounds like we are going to go the Digi One IAP route, we have used one before on a different radio system. Thanks for all the help.
One last question, I only need to purchase one? the SCADA application will talk directly to the master, and through the master to all the slaves? Correct?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2015, 01:57 PM   #10
diat150
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

diat150 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,217
just to be sure, are your radios serial? if so, yes. the digi will tie into the master radio serial port and all of the devices connected to the slave radios should have their own unique rtu id.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2015, 01:59 PM   #11
_Gregory
Member
United States

_Gregory is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Wenatchee
Posts: 7
Yes, the Radios are modbus RTU (serial cable and connector)

Thanks again for the help, greatly appreciated.

-Greg
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2017, 04:06 PM   #12
gpalme49
Member
Argentina

gpalme49 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Esquel
Posts: 1
Hello, I am new in this forum. I am developing a new SCADA (in Wonderware) to replace the old Visual Basic Application that communicate PC to a ZETRON 1732 (mudbus RTU option).
System use a serial/ethernet bridge to link both devices. I have configured a DASMBTCP driver and used several configuration parameters and It doesn´t work.

Using SMC and WWClient I realized the quality value for data is 001B (no connection).

Could anyone gime a pice of advice to resolve this issue?

Software system installed:
- Windows Server 2003 SP2
- DAServer MBTCP 1.5
- Wonderware Intouch 10.1

Do you think DASMBTCP is able to communicate with ZETRON 1732?

I also tryed with MBENET without success.

Thanks for your attention!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horner serial communications engineerguy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 April 9th, 2014 07:19 AM
SLC 5/05 Communication Problem with Serial Port.. pranav.mistry003 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 23rd, 2012 02:41 PM
Wireless Serial Communications nico LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 October 23rd, 2003 06:17 PM
SLC 5/03 Serial Communications jthornton LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 26th, 2003 07:52 PM
Serial Communications K.C. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 August 13th, 2002 09:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


.