You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 16th, 2017, 03:53 PM   #1
wicing
Member
Sweden

wicing is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Halmstad
Posts: 8
Wago Bus controller/coupler

Hi,
I am thinking about to upgrade a wago plc-setup I use at home. I plan to switch my 750-880 (which only can be programmed with Wago I/O Pro (Codesys 2.3) to a newer cpu with Codesys 3 capability. I will also need a bus-coupler in my garage to be able to link i/o's to the main cpu over ethernet.
My question. Is it possible to use a cpu unit as just a bus-coupler? I know that it's not a cheap bus-coupler, but it will be useless otherwise.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2017, 03:55 AM   #2
Toine
Member
Netherlands

Toine is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NL
Posts: 188
I do not know if you can make it behave exactly like a bus controller, but you can make your cpu unit a modbus slave and publish variables/tags via modbus. Alternatively, you may want to sell the 750-880 and get a modbus coupler (for instance used via ebay).
  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2017, 06:15 AM   #3
wicing
Member
Sweden

wicing is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Halmstad
Posts: 8
That is also an alternative.
If i use it as a modbus slave, can it coexist with a 750-352 as a second modbus slave and have them controlled with for instance a PFC200 or PFC100?

Is there a lot to "win" with a PFCx00 instead of the 750-880? I have a project in the near future where I will use a PFCx00 and thought I should upgrade my system when I already have to buy a license for eCockpit.

What about PFC100 vs PFC200? Whats the main differences, besides 200 supports both eCockpit and i/o Pro while 100 only works with the first of them?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2017, 07:35 AM   #4
Toine
Member
Netherlands

Toine is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NL
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by wicing View Post
That is also an alternative.
If i use it as a modbus slave, can it coexist with a 750-352 as a second modbus slave and have them controlled with for instance a PFC200 or PFC100?
Yes, you can use multiple modbus slaves with one controller. Do note that I/O on a slave will not be as fast as I/O directly on a controller. If for example you want to catch a digital input that is typically high for 50ms or less, you are likely to miss it quite often if communication with the slave runs at a 100ms or 200ms interval. An advantage of using your 880 as a slave can be you can program it to "catch" a fast signal and communicate at a slower rate with your main PLC. It can take a bit of thinking to make it work as intended. If you don't get me, I'm probably over-complicating

Quote:
Is there a lot to "win" with a PFCx00 instead of the 750-880? I have a project in the near future where I will use a PFCx00 and thought I should upgrade my system when I already have to buy a license for eCockpit.
The PFC100 and PFC200 controllers can be programmed with e!Cockpit or straight Codesys 3.5 from 3S software. When you use web visualisations, this can be a reason to use the newer versions, as the 2.3 webvisualisation uses Java. Support for the Java plugin in web browsers is waning. HTML5 visualisation from e!cockpit or Codesys 3.5 does not require the Java plugin, and because it is straight HTML5 is also can be viewed on phones and tablets. Not always what you'd typically want in an industrial environment, but it sure is a big plus at home.

Quote:
What about PFC100 vs PFC200? Whats the main differences, besides 200 supports both eCockpit and i/o Pro while 100 only works with the first of them?
Get the specs out for the models that fit your needs. You've already got one main difference. In general it seems to me the PFC200 have slightly higher specs (e.g. memory, onboard periferals, power supply, max number of I/O's that can be added).
  Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2017, 01:45 PM   #5
shooter
Member
Netherlands

shooter is offline
 
shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: duketown
Posts: 2,642
yes you can use the 880 as a coupler even in V3,and in ecockpit you can make it as a device.
__________________
shooter@home.nl
skype shooter paul.deelen
Computer Shooter
Paul Deelen
J. Wassenaerstraat 29
NL 5224 GG 's-Hertogenbosch
+31653300739
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2017, 03:59 PM   #6
wicing
Member
Sweden

wicing is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Halmstad
Posts: 8
Whats the main differences between pure CoDeSys 3.5 and e!Cockpit? As I understand it CoDeSys is free while you have to buy a licence for e!Cockpit, but I guess I get more with e!Cockpit?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 07:16 AM   #7
Toine
Member
Netherlands

Toine is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NL
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by wicing View Post
Whats the main differences between pure CoDeSys 3.5 and e!Cockpit? As I understand it CoDeSys is free while you have to buy a licence for e!Cockpit, but I guess I get more with e!Cockpit?
eCockpit is in many ways similar to generic CoDeSys 3.5 but specific for Wago hardware. You can use generic CoDeSys 3.5 with PFC100 and PFC200 controllers, the development software is free but for every controller (PLC) you will need to buy a "runtime" from 3S software. Currently this is 100 per controller. While the initial costs are higher for eCockpit, you don't have "per controller" costs anymore as you do with the 3S runtimes.

I don't know if the 3S runtime works straight away with all different input and output modules that you can use on a Wago controller. There is a PDF list of supported modules on the 3S website. As far as I know the eCockpit version will work with all Wago modules that are currently available. Also it comes with extensive set of Wago libraries.

With eCockpit you call or email your local Wago office for any support questions. For generic CoDeSys you'd get in touch with 3S Software, the makers of codesys,
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 09:30 AM   #8
wicing
Member
Sweden

wicing is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Halmstad
Posts: 8
Ok. Then the financial differences aren't that big. At least when you have done a couple of projects.

I downloaded an evaluation version of e!cockpit and my first reactions was that I didn't recognise anything. But I guess that is a first reaction. According to Wago many things have been simplified.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 10:33 AM   #9
Toine
Member
Netherlands

Toine is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NL
Posts: 188
I'm not entirely sure "simplified" covers it all, but some things have indeed changed rather radically between CoDeSys2 and CoDeSys3/e!Cockpit.

I do not intend to say things are complicated mind you, just very different. Programming itself hasn't changed much, it is still IEC 61131-3 after all. The way you set things up and how to navigate around in your project has. One quickly gets used to that.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2017, 01:46 PM   #10
wicing
Member
Sweden

wicing is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Halmstad
Posts: 8
I think so too. And Wago support is i good help if I will feel to lost.
Another thing. I use CFC as programming language. I have diffucult to learn structured text, I am completely stuck with BASIC-syntax so structured text feels unlogic to me. The thing is CFC takes much space on the "drawing board". I have been forced to tighten the space between my circuits several times to make my whole program fit. It looks that this "drawing area" is smaller in e!Cockpit. Is it? Or is it possible to largen this area (both in v2.x and 3.x)?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2017, 12:13 PM   #11
Toine
Member
Netherlands

Toine is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NL
Posts: 188
I don't know about that one, as I have never used CFC.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2018, 01:23 PM   #12
shooter
Member
Netherlands

shooter is offline
 
shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: duketown
Posts: 2,642
In CFC like any other language try to use one page for a program, and use subroutines to make a complex program.
like a input routine, a control routine, a output routine, a communication block, a safety block (this i make in ladder, to be sure it is correct.
slowly expand the structure
__________________
shooter@home.nl
skype shooter paul.deelen
Computer Shooter
Paul Deelen
J. Wassenaerstraat 29
NL 5224 GG 's-Hertogenbosch
+31653300739
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QX451 to WAGO Field Bus Coupler FarHeap LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 27th, 2014 06:20 AM
AB PLC and WAGO field bus coupler pulikutti LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 14th, 2010 02:14 AM
AB PLC and WAGO field bus coupler pulikutti LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 July 27th, 2010 08:55 AM
Use of wago field bus couplers.? bornwild LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 June 1st, 2010 12:16 PM
Magicbus? kittydog42 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 October 17th, 2006 06:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.


.