You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 3rd, 2018, 09:13 AM   #1
colemaj1
Member
United States

colemaj1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greenwood, MS
Posts: 5
FactoryTalk View global object in a global object

Hi, I have been using global objects and appreciate the amount of time they are saving me when developing HMI displays.

Is it possible to have a global object within a global object?

For example, I have a global menu banner that I include on each of my main displays which works fine. But what I'd like to do is have my actual menu items be global objects as well. That way if I change the look of one, it will populate to all.

I tried creating the global menu item, and I've tested it on a regular display fine, but when I drag it to my global menu banner, the menu item doesn't give me an option to define global parameters. The option is grayed out when I right click on it.

Is this permitted and I'm doing something wrong, or are nesting global objects not permitted at all?

I'm on FTV 9.0.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2018, 03:37 PM   #2
arlenjacobs
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

arlenjacobs is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 606
No, you can't nest global objects.
Only the top level group will be the global object.

When you copy/paste a global object inside the group of another global object, you just get a more complicated single global object.


Just create one global object for your banner and each menu item.
Copy/paste the banner and menu items that you need to each display. A little bit more work now, but from then on any changes to your menus items will populate out to all your displays.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2018, 04:01 PM   #3
colemaj1
Member
United States

colemaj1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Greenwood, MS
Posts: 5
That answers my question. Very good thanks for the help!
  Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2018, 06:01 PM   #4
keshik
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

keshik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by arlenjacobs View Post
No, you can't nest global objects.
Only the top level group will be the global object.
One quirk to this: you can copy a sub-group of a global object to a display screen and it will operate as its own global object (I understand that this is not what the OP is trying to do). You won't be able to use parameters on this sub-group though.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2018, 07:51 PM   #5
MATT116
Member
United States

MATT116 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 327
You can edit multiple objects at a time using the property panel.
For example if you have 10 buttons right click one button and open the property panel now hold down the control key and select the remaining buttons. Now when you make changes in the property panel it change all buttons. Also you can select the “state”you want to change.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FactoryTalk View Studio - SE w/PlantPax Setup DarrenG LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 June 16th, 2017 12:01 PM
Accessing FactoryTalk View SE object properties on different screens phuz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 9th, 2017 01:45 PM
FactoryTalk view SE questions Kalagaraz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 June 1st, 2017 11:47 AM
FactoryTalk View Studio for Machine Edition "Unable to Install" abyvarghes LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 23rd, 2016 06:31 AM
Passing Global parameters in Factory Talk View Se Tom Kazakoff LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 1st, 2009 12:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


.