You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 2nd, 2018, 12:21 PM   #1
janner_10
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

janner_10 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Tewkesbury
Posts: 622
Advanced HMI Multi-touch?`

We have a job coming up where the customer wants the HMI on a tablet, connecting to a Compact Logix.

It is a Win 10 Pro tablet. I assume AdvHMI will handle this, but does it also support multi-touch?

The customer wants a deadmans switch and a jog pb on one of the screen.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2018, 12:38 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,981
Quote:
The customer wants a deadmans switch and a jog pb on one of the screens [of a wireless tablet].
Run.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2018, 12:40 PM   #3
the_msp
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

the_msp is offline
 
the_msp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 659
An HMI based dead mans switch? Sorry I'm not directly answering your question but if it were me that would be hardwired...
__________________
Regards,

Patrick

https://www.youtube.com/user/MrMatrixEngineering
  Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2018, 12:45 PM   #4
janner_10
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

janner_10 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Tewkesbury
Posts: 622
It's not actually a legal requirement, it's just they want to jog the machine by pressing 2 buttons instead of 1, so deadmans switch was probably poor terminology.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2018, 01:11 PM   #5
the_msp
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

the_msp is offline
 
the_msp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 659
I guess it's less of an aHMI feature than the tablet feature. I tried it there on my Surface RT and it entered two keys of the keyboard at once. Unfortunately, being RT I can't test aHMI for you. Vb is generally expecting only one button press at a time as why would there be the mouse in two points at once.

I guess it's no different to having a latching button true and a momentary button true (and if "multi touch doesn't work, this is what I would do; have a toggle button that is password protected/hidden for "jog enabled"). The code will be simply a boolean AND of the two states.

I would still ask the customer why they want this.

P.s. "multi touch" generally refers to the ability to pinch to zoom or rotate objects
__________________
Regards,

Patrick

https://www.youtube.com/user/MrMatrixEngineering
  Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2018, 04:08 PM   #6
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,600
  Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2018, 04:28 PM   #7
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,494
The usual rationale for a two-hand switch is to keep both of an operator's hands away from a dangerous area when initiating motion. It's hard to understand why the client would want something like that implemented on a tablet where an operator could most likely use two fingers on one hand and still be able to place his other hand at risk.
It seems to me that requiring two sequential touches rather than two simultaneous touches would be a better strategy. That would reduce the likelihood of accidentally starting motion if someone touched the wrong area of the touchscreen by mistake.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2018, 05:00 PM   #8
Aardwizz
Member
United Kingdom

Aardwizz is offline
 
Aardwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Swindon
Posts: 157
I haven't had the luxury of playing with AdvancedHMI, but some HMI systems have the ability to program pushbuttons to run different scripts for "ON DOWN" and "ON UP", where one can set and reset a command bit (like a jog).

Normally, I don't trust such logic, as experience has shown that HMI packets can get misplaced, and on a quick press/release the "On Up" bit reset can arrive before the "On Down" set, thus latching in the command until the next button press.

The two-hand strategy -- where two independent bits are reset if only one bit is active for more than say 0.25 sec -- is not a terrible way to compensate for the problem, if coupled with a "Jog Mode" to both enable the buttons and to exit if things go sideways. Assuming that AdvanceHMI allows a second button to be pressed while another one is also pressed. This can't be done with a mouse, so probably can't be done with fingers, either.

The above advice -- RUN AWAY ! -- is probably a better solution.

Last edited by Aardwizz; February 4th, 2018 at 05:04 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2018, 07:46 PM   #9
Allen123
Member
China

Allen123 is offline
 
Allen123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Shenzhen
Posts: 12
An Win 10 Pro tablet support multi-touch, i think this Windows Industrial Panel PC will meet your need.

As for a deadmans switch and a jog pb on one of the screen.Just like others: RUN AWAY!
  Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2018, 07:58 PM   #10
CaspianSage
Member
United States

CaspianSage is offline
 
CaspianSage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Where I Am
Posts: 117
Voted best answer!

just for fun...i vote this as the best answer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by asf View Post
__________________
Caspian

---------------------------------------
1+1 = 3 and I never was good at math.
----------------------------------------
  Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2018, 08:06 PM   #11
Allen123
Member
China

Allen123 is offline
 
Allen123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Shenzhen
Posts: 12
Haha, Made my day
__________________
Industrial Panel PC Manufacture at http://www.szjawest.cn/
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advanced HMI Page 2 khewes LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 May 25th, 2016 07:48 AM
HMI communication problem. Elcan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 April 22nd, 2016 08:09 AM
Advanced HMI pr_wainwright LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 36 August 18th, 2015 08:11 AM
FactoryTalk HMI architecture computers and panelview mix V0N_hydro LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 7th, 2014 10:45 AM
Displaying LONG integers in Advanced HMI rguimond LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 December 11th, 2013 06:29 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


.