You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 19th, 2018, 08:02 AM   #1
poj101
Member
Ireland

poj101 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Donegal
Posts: 30
TIA Portal & Cognex FB

Hi All,

I am looking for a FB for Siemens TIA v14 to read/write to a Cognex Insight (7000 & 2000) over Profinet.
I have written multiple Rockwell programs using Cognex cameras but this is my first venture into Siemens...
I'm slowly getting my head around it
Cognex provide some great support for RSLogix / Studio 5000 but there doesn't seem to be much available on the Siemens side. I have set up the network side of it and thought I'de ask the question before I start writing code. Has anyone come across FB's similar to the Rockwell AOI's that are available?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2018, 08:34 AM   #2
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 1,677
Should be easy. You have a gsd file from Cognex?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2018, 09:53 AM   #3
JRW
Member
United States

JRW is offline
 
JRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Upstate South Cackalacky
Posts: 1,677
Have you seen this?
https://www.cognex.com/support/downl...&langtype=1033
  Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2018, 12:51 PM   #4
dwoodlock
Member
United States

dwoodlock is offline
 
dwoodlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 411
I'm not sure how much you will find about 3rd party devices on the Siemens technical message board, but you could definitely give it a browse.

https://support.industry.siemens.com...h/?text=cognex

Additionally you can enter a service request for technical questions related to Siemens hardware/software. They tend to respond very quickly, and it doesn't cost anything.

good luck
  Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2018, 02:45 PM   #5
janner_10
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

janner_10 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Tewkesbury
Posts: 660
You shouldn't need a FB, just add the GSD, the Cognex manual will tell what data to read. I did a project a couple of years ago with a 5 series camera, I can post some screenshots.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2018, 04:12 PM   #6
JBA-DK
Member
Denmark

JBA-DK is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Haderslev
Posts: 54
Be aware of what kind of switch you place between plc and camera. A couple off weeks ago I had trouble getting a datalogic barcode reader working on profinet. I can't but maybe some other can explain why some switches will work and others will not. I was online on both plc and camera at the same time but the plc kept failing missing hardware. Connecting the plc directly to the camera and fault was gone. I replaced the switch and the problem was solved. Both switches were unmanged simple switches but different brands.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2018, 02:42 AM   #7
poj101
Member
Ireland

poj101 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Donegal
Posts: 30
Hi Guys,
Thanks for the pointers. Cognex support responded with a manual and some sample code. Pretty straightforward. Too large to post unfortunately. DM if anyone needs it
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
run Step 7 without TIA Portal dmned64 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 7th, 2017 06:39 AM
TIA Portal V13 FB for WAGO 750-637 Encoder Scarra LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 31st, 2016 09:34 AM
TIA Portal V13 Emergency Stop FB schui LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 December 29th, 2015 03:31 PM
Change FB number on Know How protected Function blocks - TIA Portal rQx LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 28th, 2014 09:06 AM
Siemens OP77B Trouble in TIA Portal Tim James LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 December 24th, 2012 03:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 PM.


.