You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 30th, 2018, 08:02 AM   #1
kresop
Member
Croatia

kresop is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: qw
Posts: 4
Sending G code to NCU

Hello
Suppose I want to make my own HMI for SIEMENS NCU.
How do I send G code program to NCU?
I don't expect details, of course, just a pointer.
Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old February 1st, 2018, 08:04 AM   #2
kresop
Member
Croatia

kresop is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: qw
Posts: 4
Is it at least documented somewhere or SIEMENS keeps this info for themselves?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2018, 02:56 AM   #3
kresop
Member
Croatia

kresop is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: qw
Posts: 4
Let me refrase the question. Can I send g code from PLC?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2018, 03:21 AM   #4
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 860
G code is just ASCII text. So yes, no reason you couldn't send it from a PLC if your PLC has instructions for sending ASCII out of a serial port
  Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2018, 03:28 AM   #5
kresop
Member
Croatia

kresop is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: qw
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saffa View Post
G code is just ASCII text. So yes, no reason you couldn't send it from a PLC if your PLC has instructions for sending ASCII out of a serial port
Please read all posts from the begining. The point is to send it to NC and NC accept it as G code or NC part program whatever you call it.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2018, 03:34 AM   #6
Saffa
Member
New Zealand

Saffa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bay of Plenty
Posts: 860
Quote:
Originally Posted by kresop View Post
Let me refrase the question. Can I send g code from PLC?
This is the question I answered. You have several questions. I have no idea about what an NCU is.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2018, 07:33 AM   #7
mk42
Member
United States

mk42 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 1,838
First, you need to tell us which NCU you're using from Siemens. Is this an 840Dsl?

For support, manuals, etc, go to https://support.industry.siemens.com/cs/start

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saffa View Post
This is the question I answered. You have several questions. I have no idea about what an NCU is.
Essentially, it's a CNC controller. They often have a built in, but separate, PLC.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2018, 11:52 PM   #8
bill4807
Member
United States

bill4807 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: michigan
Posts: 76
I have never seen G-code written in the PLC of a CNC. To me it's done in the NC system software.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
transfer data code from pc to omron plc ahmed yousri LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 March 13th, 2008 07:42 AM
Advice needed for learning how to properly write plc code for machine control SilverLoop LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 June 6th, 2006 10:38 AM
About off-line programming? mayhem LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 May 23rd, 2006 04:46 PM
Sub-routines - general question burnerman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 25 March 2nd, 2006 09:56 PM
How to simulate a FOR..NEXT loop? New2PLCs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 26 May 9th, 2002 12:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.


.