You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 6th, 2018, 02:14 PM   #1
DwSoFt
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

DwSoFt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 859
Remote IO for Compactlogix

Hi Guys. I did do alittle searching but nothing came out and answered what I want to know.

Currently, I am helping Design a control system upgrade. The old controller on site is an RTU and will be doing just Metering after the Upgrade, as the site is also getting additional IO

I want to go with a 1769-L33ER CPU at the main cabinet with the new IO for location, but for the 2 other sections on site i want to go with Ethernet remote IO.

I was building it with Compactlogix IO and a AENTR for each rack, but it got me thinking about the Point and Flex IO. I seem to recall that something was being or is discontinued, but i dont remember what. Each Section IO Count will be 16DI,16AI,8DO, 4AO. The potential to upgrade this location again in a year is high (Oil Battery, drilling new wells) Also the Remote IO must be Class1Div2 Rated, which Compactlogix is.

What are your thoughts?
__________________
Dan Wiebe
-----------------
Automation Manager
Phoenix Energy Services
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2018, 03:32 PM   #2
damica1
Member
United States

damica1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Illinois
Posts: 468
This would just be another solution.
https://www.anybus.com/products/gate...linking-device

Then use Modbus Tcp I/O all kinds of configurations to pick from.
__________________
David M. Camp

Marshall Electric / https://mei-tech.com/monitor-and-control

Please Download from our download section "Monitor and Control" .pdf.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2018, 03:39 PM   #3
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,610
I believe that flex I/O is being phased out, but point I/O is still very current. I still buy and install hundreds of point I/O cards a year.

The I/O count is well within the range of a point I/O rack. 2x IB8, 2x IE8C, 1x OB8 and 1x OE4V. Much more than that and you'd need to look at whether or not you need a bus power module (EP24VDC), but my general rule of thumb is that I don't need to bother doing the math on that until I have 8+ modules. So you should be fine.

I can't tell you anything about Class 1 Div 2 ratings though, sorry!
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2018, 03:46 PM   #4
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,998
Some of the unusual 1794 FLEX modules have been discontinued, like the non-XT model conformally coated ones, and the A-B RIO protocol and Profibus adapters and ControlNet 1.25 adapters.

But in general all of those are active products. FLEX is mature, but still produced in volume.

I agree that 1734 POINT is probably a good choice for this application; more modern design, small installation footprint, popular and broadly stocked.

Most Rockwell I/O products are Class 1 Div 2 rated, as long as you don't unplug them under power. Check the Installation Instructions for each device to be certain.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2018, 07:28 PM   #5
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is offline
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 220
I will advise this because you mention drilling. If you will have moderate vibration possible where the Point IO will be installed, then I would recommend against using Point IO. Even if it weren’t I would still recommend not to use it. My personal experience with them is that they are cheaply made and finicky.

There are plenty of other options available.
I’ve been replacing Point IO with these guys.
https://www.br-automation.com/en/pro...ers/x20bc0088/
__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2018, 08:30 PM   #6
Jeev
Member
Australia

Jeev is offline
 
Jeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 433
Ask your Rockwell rep about Flex 5000.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2018, 08:48 PM   #7
Aardwizz
Member
United Kingdom

Aardwizz is offline
 
Aardwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Swindon
Posts: 157
The Flex EX (Class 1, Div 1) series is being phased out, to be replaced with the 1719 series.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2018, 09:20 PM   #8
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,998
I use POINT I/O on an application where it undergoes significant vibration because there's the occasional rocket passing by. We added threaded tie-downs to hold the modules in place because the G's they experience are just too high for plastic snaps.

POINT has gold-plated contacts on purpose; the tin stuff that Wago and Beckhoff used to use would spall and oxidize.

I agree that X20 is pretty solid stuff, and we get a screaming deal on it because they're trying to earn our business. I personally don't like to get out a third-party configuration tool just to set up my I/O devices.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2018, 09:22 PM   #9
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,998
Also: Oooh, pretty

https://theautomationblog.com/new-flex-5000-io/
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2018, 02:00 PM   #10
CapinWinky
Member
United States

CapinWinky is offline
 
CapinWinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 499
I'll third the B&R X20 and X67 IO solutions, they meet/exceed all ratings for location/use that Flex has. As a bonus, it's less expensive than Rockwell, takes up less space, has more module variety, and 100% made in Austria as opposed to Rockwell's IO which is mostly made in the 3rd world. You can run them on Ethernet/IP or just about any other protocol around.

PointIO is not well made and doesn't have all the certs FlexIO has. I'm constantly having terminal blocks break when I'm trying to insert wires too (it's like they're made of cheese). I thought I was doing something wrong the first time I used PointIO; the 3rd IO point in a row just flat broke when I put in my little screwdriver to release the spring terminal so I asked around and the unanimous answer was just that "they do that sometimes".
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------
Cycling power is a sign of weakness.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2018, 07:54 PM   #11
seth350
Member
United States

seth350 is offline
 
seth350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Over yonder
Posts: 220
You ever taken apart a Point IO base module? Nothing is soldered. They use little flat spring pins pushed into a hole. How much contact do you have with a rectangle in a circle?

I’m sure other manufacturers do the same, but AB has given me a particularly bad taste in my mouth.
__________________
“Did the Lord say that machines outta take the place of livin’, and what’s the substitute for bread and beans? Do engines get rewarded for their steam?” -John Henry
  Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2018, 12:22 PM   #12
DwSoFt
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

DwSoFt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 859
I am Getting Compact IO quoted as well as Flex IO. I do not like the springloaded design nor rack design of pointIO. I am familiar with both of these products, and if the client is willing to spend the extra i will go compactIO. Availability up in northern Canada is also a concern.

As for Modbus IO, i do use it on other design projects, but in this Case, they want to keep to Allen Bradley products (Spec.)
__________________
Dan Wiebe
-----------------
Automation Manager
Phoenix Energy Services

Last edited by DwSoFt; February 8th, 2018 at 01:11 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CompactLogix to SLC Remote IO CGL LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 February 9th, 2015 09:39 PM
CompactLogix to Remote IO module error jeffy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 8th, 2011 02:18 AM
PLC-5 Question for Online Addition of Flex IO AI card on Remote IO Link usman379 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 28th, 2010 04:13 PM
strange---only one slot work on Remote IO RobinWang11 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 May 26th, 2009 02:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


.