You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 14th, 2018, 12:11 PM   #1
CaspianSage
Member
United States

CaspianSage is offline
 
CaspianSage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Where I Am
Posts: 123
Import data

For PLC 5/20 DH+ RIO and DF1 - No Ethernet

Looking for information on importing data but have not found a way to import data to a data table.

Is there a way to import values from a file like a csv or txt file to a specific data table-
Integer and floating point?

Thank you
__________________
Caspian

---------------------------------------
1+1 = 3 and I never was good at math.
----------------------------------------
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2018, 12:29 PM   #2
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,982
Which direction are you going when you say import? TO the PLC or FROM the PLC?

Do you have a licensed version of RSLinx (not Lite)?
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2018, 12:40 PM   #3
CaspianSage
Member
United States

CaspianSage is offline
 
CaspianSage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Where I Am
Posts: 123
Import to PLC, I have RS Linx Classic
__________________
Caspian

---------------------------------------
1+1 = 3 and I never was good at math.
----------------------------------------
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2018, 12:46 PM   #4
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,982
RSLinx Classic Lite will not work with DDE/OPC. You will need RSLinx Classic OEM, Professional, or Gateway version to do it. Open RSLinx, click Help, then search for "Microsoft Excel". There are explanations of using Excel to read and write data to a PLC.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2018, 04:10 PM   #5
tarik1978
Member
Morocco

tarik1978 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: casablanca
Posts: 398
Have a look at this thread:
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=75889
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2018, 05:55 PM   #6
Aardwizz
Member
United Kingdom

Aardwizz is offline
 
Aardwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Swindon
Posts: 203
Can you do a download?

If you save the program as an an ASCII file (.X5), towards the end are the various data tables with their values. It takes some effort, but it's possible to get Excel to duplicate the format, with the data you want. Copy, paste over, import and download, and you've got the values in the data tables that you want.

I also have this niggling memory that RSLogix 5, alone of all the Rockwell products, had the capability to do "partial downloads". How "partial" I don't recall, and don't have the software loaded to test it for you.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2018, 07:10 PM   #7
CaspianSage
Member
United States

CaspianSage is offline
 
CaspianSage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Where I Am
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by OkiePC View Post
RSLinx Classic Lite will not work with DDE/OPC. You will need RSLinx Classic OEM, Professional, or Gateway version to do it. Open RSLinx, click Help, then search for "Microsoft Excel". There are explanations of using Excel to read and write data to a PLC.

Okie I should have said rs linx was not an option, When I searched for a solution for this I was already aware Linx Lite was not an option but I thought there might be another way.

I would say most of the guys on this forum are much more advanced in PLC programming than I am so I was hoping ......

I could do it with my DB module and list the data to the port with hyper terminal but who wants to go back to 1921 .... I can probably type the data in faster then I would get the DB Module program to work,, Last time I used one was in the mid 80s

Aardwizz .X5 does not save as an ASCII file but thanks for the suggestion.
__________________
Caspian

---------------------------------------
1+1 = 3 and I never was good at math.
----------------------------------------
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2018, 08:10 PM   #8
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 809
Check out these i have used them in the past works well

http://ingeardrivers.com/
  Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2018, 09:09 PM   #9
Ravioli
Member
United States

Ravioli is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aardwizz View Post
Can you do a download?

If you save the program as an an ASCII file (.X5), towards the end are the various data tables with their values. It takes some effort, but it's possible to get Excel to duplicate the format, with the data you want. Copy, paste over, import and download, and you've got the values in the data tables that you want.

I also have this niggling memory that RSLogix 5, alone of all the Rockwell products, had the capability to do "partial downloads". How "partial" I don't recall, and don't have the software loaded to test it for you.
.PC5 seems to save in a more "excel friendly" format. This is doable if you want to change everything for a one time download and not continuously on the fly (where you may want OPC).

Upload your existing online data files, save, go offline and modify, then download.

If you export to a PC5 you will see all data files, and all logic. You can delete it to what you want.

The following examples can be saved into .PC5 files. They can be opened when you have an existing offline project open and will overwrite the first 10 words of N7 (regardless of the size of N7, or logic).

COMPLETE will cause RSLogix to warn you that it is a complete image
Quote:
START PLC5_80 SERIES_E REV_K COMPLETE

DATA N7:9
% N7:0 % 1 2 655 3456 0 0 0 0 0 0
PARTIAL will cause it to import without warning.
Quote:
START PLC5_80 SERIES_E REV_K PARTIAL

DATA N7:9
% N7:0 % 1 2 655 3456 0 0 0 0 0 0
  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2018, 10:09 AM   #10
Aardwizz
Member
United Kingdom

Aardwizz is offline
 
Aardwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Swindon
Posts: 203
My mistake -- as Ravioli pointed out, the ASCII file type is .PC5, not .X5 (this is what I get for not having the software to get the right answer, and doing a too-fast Google to get what I thought was the answer.)

Ravioli's built on the basic idea of what I suggested. Like he said, it's OK for a one-time change of data, like creating an entire recipe library; not so good if you want to keep changing parameters with each new recipe.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2018, 10:23 AM   #11
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aardwizz View Post
I also have this niggling memory that RSLogix 5, alone of all the Rockwell products, had the capability to do "partial downloads". How "partial" I don't recall, and don't have the software loaded to test it for you.
For a one-time or infrequent operation, the RSLogix 5 partial download feature would work but I am pretty sure you have to put the PLC in program mode which might be a show stopper. It allows you to select individual data files and ladder files. You would have to select whole data files, not parts of data files.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2018, 01:21 PM   #12
CaspianSage
Member
United States

CaspianSage is offline
 
CaspianSage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Where I Am
Posts: 123
PC5 it is

Thanks everyone for your suggestions!

Ravioli's suggestion to save offline as PC5 did the trick.

I opened it first in Open Office Calc, inserted the data for a whole new floating point file, File Number type and the data for each word.

Saved it back but I forgot to filter the output when I saved it so it put commas in every blank space making it unusable.

Then I opened it in Editpad (a better line editor then notepad)
And inserted it again.

I created the new file; F24 in editpad not rs-logix

Loaded it into RS Logix 5 and there it is- Perfect solution for a one time deal.

Having it in Open Office Calc will allow me to perform some anylytics of the data and I think I can tweak the save so I can do it all and re-save with calc.

Okie I am going to try your solution at some point just to get a handle on it.

Thanks everyone, Especially Ravioli for a great solution, it took less than 5 minutes to add a file with 255 words of data.

Here's to you:
__________________
Caspian

---------------------------------------
1+1 = 3 and I never was good at math.
----------------------------------------

Last edited by CaspianSage; February 15th, 2018 at 02:19 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S7 400 with CP synchronize program with UDP data packet rt95 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 February 8th, 2013 04:43 AM
PLCs, data logging and analysis, need to get up to speed on available software Mr. Blah LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 December 19th, 2012 09:17 AM
Copy or import RS500 data file to excel godfrey LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 April 20th, 2011 11:11 AM
Import data from CTX5555 to MS Excel C. Marshall LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 10th, 2008 12:12 AM
Confused "again" S7 indirect Thim LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 July 22nd, 2008 05:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.


.