You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 15th, 2018, 01:45 PM   #1
jwill83
Member
United States

jwill83 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
SCL 5/04 to Wonderware (Ethernet) connection

Hoping someone can shed some light on this...

We have a customer that has a 5/04 processor talking DH+ to a Wonderware HMI, and they need a spare HMI. Our Wonderware rep told us that they stopped making the DH+ card, and the new HMI will be Ethernet.

My thoughts are I have 2 options:
1) Do the HMI and upgrade the SLC 5/04 to a 5/05. Pros - simple change of communication protocol in the InTouch config file for the new HMI; a simple PLC configuration change; I know how to do it... Cons - more costly; 5/05 processor and spare HMI will both sit on the shelf until the current one dies.

2) Get a DH+/Ethernet protocol converter (like the Prosoft AN-X2-AB-DHRIO) or do a DH+/Ethernet Gateway with a ControlLogix DHRIO & Ethernet card. Pros - costs less. Cons - Customer wants the HMI soon and I don't know how involved it'll be, and I've never done this before.

I've read through the ProSoft manual, but it still doesn't make sense on what I need to do with the HMI program (if anything besides updating the communication protocol) or creating the configuration file. We probably have 100+ addresses (B, I, and N in the SLC) being displayed / manipulated by the HMI. Would the config file need to basically list every address that is being seen/controlled by the HMI?

All documentation I've read for the CLX Gateway is from 1999 and requires a 1784-KTX Card.

Has anyone done something similar recently that can point me in the right direction?

  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2018, 01:53 PM   #2
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,394
Its been a long time since I have done it but we have manuals that may help you... we sell a DH+ gateway see link below

https://www.plccable.com/ethernet-ip...r-ethernet-ip/

The ones I have done in the past used a 1756ENBT, DHRIO and CLX A4
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2018, 02:05 PM   #3
jwill83
Member
United States

jwill83 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
Its been a long time since I have done it but we have manuals that may help you... we sell a DH+ gateway see link below

https://www.plccable.com/ethernet-ip...r-ethernet-ip/

The ones I have done in the past used a 1756ENBT, DHRIO and CLX A4
So that device would take the place of the 1756ENBT, 1756-DHRIO, & 1756-A4 chassis?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2018, 02:06 PM   #4
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,737
Is the HMI within serial port distance of the SLC (~50 feet of wire)?
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2018, 02:10 PM   #5
jwill83
Member
United States

jwill83 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by OkiePC View Post
Is the HMI within serial port distance of the SLC (~50 feet of wire)?
Yes, probably ~ 30-40'.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2018, 02:58 PM   #6
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwill83 View Post
Yes, probably ~ 30-40'.
If the speed limit of the serial connection won't harm your application, and channel 0 is free on the CPU, you could go that route. You do then want to ensure that you have a good quality serial connection in the Wonderware PC and that the right drivers are available to you. I am not very experienced with Wonderware but I suspect it should be pretty easy to redirect the tags to accommodate that change.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2018, 04:31 PM   #7
GaryS
Member
United States

GaryS is offline
 
GaryS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lancaster Pa.
Posts: 647
If they are not using the DH+ for anything else then then change the processor to a 5/05
or even better upgrade to a newer processor
  Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2018, 05:46 AM   #8
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwill83 View Post
So that device would take the place of the 1756ENBT, 1756-DHRIO, & 1756-A4 chassis?
Correct its a Ethernet Gateway and will convert your DH+ to Ethernet

So is your Wonderware running on a PC or a fixed HMI? but I think I agree with GaryS if this is the only two nodes on the network you may be better just swapping the 5/04 to a 5/05 (we have them also if needed)

The only issue with Paul's suggestion I see is future access to the PLC for troubleshooting.... if you use the RS232 port you will need to use a U2DHP for connection
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2018, 06:17 AM   #9
jwill83
Member
United States

jwill83 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
Correct its a Ethernet Gateway and will convert your DH+ to Ethernet

So is your Wonderware running on a PC or a fixed HMI? but I think I agree with GaryS if this is the only two nodes on the network you may be better just swapping the 5/04 to a 5/05 (we have them also if needed)

The only issue with Paul's suggestion I see is future access to the PLC for troubleshooting.... if you use the RS232 port you will need to use a U2DHP for connection
The HMI is running on a PC...Compact series D InTouch panel PC.

Do I need to have RSLinx installed on the PC that runs the Wonderware software?

Sorry for all the questions...I need to understand it fully before presenting it to our customer.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2018, 06:30 AM   #10
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwill83 View Post
Do I need to have RSLinx installed on the PC that runs the Wonderware software?
Its been awhile since I use WW but from what I remember they have their own communication setup and RSLinx is just used for RSLogix, we did have RSLinx and Logix loaded on the PC that was running WW but this was for troubleshooting the PLC

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwill83 View Post
Sorry for all the questions...I need to understand it fully before presenting it to our customer.
Understood and thats what this site is for... you should see how many questions I have asked, just come back and help others when you can
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2018, 07:34 AM   #11
jwill83
Member
United States

jwill83 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
Its been awhile since I use WW but from what I remember they have their own communication setup and RSLinx is just used for RSLogix, we did have RSLinx and Logix loaded on the PC that was running WW but this was for troubleshooting the PLC



Understood and thats what this site is for... you should see how many questions I have asked, just come back and help others when you can
genius - just found the Wonderware ABCIP DAServer application note on the Automation Networks website. This clears it up for me! Thanks again for all the help!!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ML1400 ethernet connection bruzynski LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 September 9th, 2017 11:59 AM
SLC 5/04 and Ethernet gizmo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 6th, 2016 04:35 AM
Confused 1756 ENBT wa5yom LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 February 24th, 2015 07:39 AM
S7-300 First Ethernet Connection minerman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 May 28th, 2013 02:58 AM
advancedhmi adressing a slc 5/04 through ethernet bridge trapelj LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 October 24th, 2011 12:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


.