You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 21st, 2018, 03:32 AM   #1
Combo
Lifetime Supporting Member
Belgium

Combo is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,611
TIA Portal online monitorring without offline project

Hi,

Did you guys know that you can see the program online without having it offline ? You can go via the menu -> Online -> Accesible nodes and then select the CPU and click on show. It will actually give you the program that is inside the CPU.

However, monitorring is not possible... I think u must do an upload before monitorring is possible ?

Kind regards,
Gerry
  Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2018, 04:15 AM   #2
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 820
In the old Simatic Step7, if you knew the address and slot where the processor was installed, you would upload the program first and then you could go online. Although no comments would be available which kinda defeated the purpose of monitoring online.

I know that at least on V11, uploading was a chore on TIA Portal, but haven't played with this on the latest versions. I also heard here somewhere that the upload will contain the comments (or potentially is an option of the programmer).
  Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2018, 07:29 AM   #3
mk42
Member
United States

mk42 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 1,780
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardosocea View Post
In the old Simatic Step7, if you knew the address and slot where the processor was installed, you would upload the program first and then you could go online. Although no comments would be available which kinda defeated the purpose of monitoring online.

I know that at least on V11, uploading was a chore on TIA Portal, but haven't played with this on the latest versions. I also heard here somewhere that the upload will contain the comments (or potentially is an option of the programmer).
[Warning: much griping follows]

Unfortunately, uploading is still a pain. It's hypothetically possible, most of the time, unless it isn't.

In the cases where it does work, there are a few different ways it feels to me like you should be able to do it, but it isn't any of them, it's some other way that I can never remember. And I think you have to be offline to upload?

The big gotcha for me is safety. You can only upload safety projects starting at V14 SP1, and only if the option is enabled in the safety settings, and only for 1500s. If you DO enable the setting, it triples the size of the load memory of your project.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2018, 07:25 PM   #4
kalabdel
Member
Canada

kalabdel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ontario
Posts: 282
It definitely is convoluted and hard to remember. This is the instruction I always have to refer to when I plan on hardware or software upload.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 02:11 AM   #5
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 820
Hmmm, I wonder if this works with the PLC Sim? I haven't quite used TIA Portal yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 07:45 AM   #6
mk42
Member
United States

mk42 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 1,780
Quote:
Originally Posted by cardosocea View Post
Hmmm, I wonder if this works with the PLC Sim? I haven't quite used TIA Portal yet.
I've never tried. I've never had a PLC sim setup where I didn't already have the project.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 09:47 AM   #7
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 820
I mean, make a project. Download to PLC Sim. Close the project, try to retrieve it from PLCSim.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TIA Portal V14 - Accessible Nodes Through VPN Rob... LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 December 23rd, 2017 02:35 PM
Step7 Classic or TIA Portal v13? Manglemender LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 July 31st, 2015 08:56 AM
Structuring of TIA portal CPUs and project rQx LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 20th, 2015 04:56 PM
comprare controllogix offline and online project wilsonzhu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 February 12th, 2008 10:43 AM
(AB,Siemens) Going online with a different project on PC plc-friend LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 May 4th, 2005 02:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


.