You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 22nd, 2018, 02:18 PM   #1
RobertB
Member
United States

RobertB is offline
 
RobertB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: WI
Posts: 52
PLC as a Stepper Motor Driver

A few days back I posted that you can use a PLC as a Stepper Motor Driver. I got mixed reactions and a lot of requests to see it. So, I posted a video of it on YouTube for anyone to see. As you can see, you will still need a power supply for the motor and relays that can handle the amps and speed of cycling. Clocked at 88 pulses per second. Enjoy.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 02:22 PM   #2
RobertB
Member
United States

RobertB is offline
 
RobertB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: WI
Posts: 52
Oops, forgot link... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0Rol1Eg3c4
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 02:26 PM   #3
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,861
Nice, can you post the ladder also
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 02:35 PM   #4
RobertB
Member
United States

RobertB is offline
 
RobertB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: WI
Posts: 52
I tried to post a .rss file on this site, and it wouldn't accept it. Really?!?!? Until someone tells me how to post an AB ladder on this site... no.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 04:50 PM   #5
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,060
Right click on the RSS file and select "Compress" or "Send To Compressed Folder" etc. depending on which OS you have, then post the .ZIP file

I use 7-Zip, a free download from CNET, as long as you catch the malware they try to add on.
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 05:04 PM   #6
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,625
Quote:
I tried to post a .rss file on this site, and it wouldn't accept it. Really?!?!? Until someone tells me how to post an AB ladder on this site... no.
In addition to Aabeck's suggestion you could print the file as a pdf from RS Logix. The site permits pdf files.
You could simply change the file extension from .rss to .zip. The forum doesn't check to see if it really is a compressed file. If you choose that route, be sure to mention that fact in the post in which you attach it lest someone try to unzip it.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 09:32 PM   #7
kalabdel
Member
Canada

kalabdel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ontario
Posts: 357
Great for as a challenge/learning experience and at the same time for industrial application reliability followed and cost, in that order, take priority.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 10:13 PM   #8
mk42
Member
United States

mk42 is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: MI
Posts: 1,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aabeck View Post
Right click on the RSS file and select "Compress" or "Send To Compressed Folder" etc. depending on which OS you have, then post the .ZIP file

I use 7-Zip, a free download from CNET, as long as you catch the malware they try to add on.
Might as well DL it straight from the source, and bypass the CNET extras. BTW, apparently they just released a new version, jumped from v16 to v18.

http://www.7-zip.org/
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2018, 05:43 AM   #9
Highland Controls
Member
United States

Highland Controls is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Richfield, Ohio
Posts: 404
Yes, a good learning experience, but not a practical solution.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2018, 06:00 AM   #10
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,110
Interesting... I did the same ages ago for an S5 as I was bored.

Thinking about it now, wouldn't it just be a counter pointing to an array and the right bits mapped out?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2018, 09:00 AM   #11
RobertB
Member
United States

RobertB is offline
 
RobertB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: WI
Posts: 52
Ladder attachment?

ML1400 SERVO LASERS V1.0 (2).zip

I hope this attachment works. Looks weird. Wish the site could simply accept a .rss file.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2018, 10:20 AM   #12
dcam
Member
United States

dcam is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: livingston
Posts: 30
I have used a micrologix 1100 and a gecko drive to run a stepper motor, worked perfectly.

https://www.geckodrive.com
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2018, 01:22 PM   #13
timryder
Member
United States

timryder is offline
 
timryder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Macomb MI
Posts: 116
Is this just a proof of concept? It's not a practical application right?
__________________
"Youth cannot know what it is the aged feel, but old men are guilty if they forget what it was to be young."
  Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2018, 04:54 AM   #14
jacoffey85
Member
United States

jacoffey85 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NC
Posts: 70
Is the noise coming from the motor or the relays? I couldn't tell if they were electromechanical relays or solid state.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2018, 10:32 AM   #15
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highland Controls View Post
Yes, a good learning experience, but not a practical solution.
I worked on some processing lines years back that had stepper motor controlled valves on spray pumps and conveyors, and all the control was done by the PLC5

I copied the logic and put it in a SLC to see how it worked, here it is zipped (I don't have the original RSL5 file stored)
Attached Files
File Type: zip stepper motor.zip (12.4 KB, 4 views)
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Precise Stepper Motor Control with PLC Blake88 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 November 24th, 2016 05:11 PM
Controlling stepper with Direct Logic 06 plc billglenn LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 9th, 2013 02:21 PM
PLC communicatio error adamly LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 February 13th, 2008 05:57 AM
Stepper Drive Linking To The Plc SESHU LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 29th, 2003 10:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 PM.


.