You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 26th, 2018, 07:31 AM   #1
jatkinson924
Member
United States

jatkinson924 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8
SLC 50/3 Connecting to Local Network

Does anyone have an suggestions on connecting a few SLC 5/03s to a local network? I've got a few Ethernet switches mounted in our ceiling for other PLCs we are using and would like to make the connections there.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 07:38 AM   #2
Aabeck
Member
United States

Aabeck is offline
 
Aabeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,063
The Rockwell way is to use a 1761-NET-ENI that connects the 5/03 serial port to the network. You can find them on Ebay for S250 - $400, but make sure they have an Ethernet port, as some listings for NET-DNI's call them NET-ENI's but are DH+ not Ethernet

I am sure there are other aftermarket devices others on the forum will know of.
__________________
Never underestimate the quality of idiots that will be running your machines
http://aabeck.com
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 07:40 AM   #3
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,895
Are the 5/03's connected to a network (DH485) or are they just standalones PLC's
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 07:40 AM   #4
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,983
Are the serial ports on the 5/03s in use? If not, look into the Digi One IAP serial to ethernet bridge module.

https://www.digi.com/products/serial...gioneiapfamily
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 07:41 AM   #5
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aabeck View Post
but make sure they have an Ethernet port, as some listings for NET-DNI's call them NET-ENI's but are DH+ not Ethernet
The DNI is devicenet not DH+
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 07:54 AM   #6
jatkinson924
Member
United States

jatkinson924 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
Are the 5/03's connected to a network (DH485) or are they just standalones PLC's
They are standalones. I was thinking of doing a DH485 Network and then buying a RS485 converter to Ethernet. Would I need the 1747-AIC to have a DH485 network?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 08:00 AM   #7
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,895
You could do a network but I think I would do Paul's suggestion with the Digi. If you had a 485 network inplace then I would look at just bridging the network to a Ethernet network

Are the RS232 (DB9) open on the 5/03?
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 08:15 AM   #8
padees
Member
United States

padees is offline
 
padees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 437
Prosoft has a new module to replace the NET-ENI.

https://www.prosoft-technology.com/L...ni-Replacement

Not sure what it cost tho.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 08:19 AM   #9
jatkinson924
Member
United States

jatkinson924 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
You could do a network but I think I would do Paul's suggestion with the Digi. If you had a 485 network inplace then I would look at just bridging the network to a Ethernet network

Are the RS232 (DB9) open on the 5/03?
No the HMI is connected thru the RS232 port. Would I need a Digi for each PLC? or daisy chain a DH485 network and have the Digi at the last PLC? The PLCs are around 60 ft of each other?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 08:32 AM   #10
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by jatkinson924 View Post
No the HMI is connected thru the RS232 port. Would I need a Digi for each PLC? or daisy chain a DH485 network and have the Digi at the last PLC? The PLCs are around 60 ft of each other?
You have a few options but none are great.... do you have a budget? you may want to think about changing them to 5/05's
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 08:49 AM   #11
jatkinson924
Member
United States

jatkinson924 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
You have a few options but none are great.... do you have a budget? you may want to think about changing them to 5/05's
yeah the budget is the problem. I've also got 4 MicroLogix 1500s I need to connect to the network as while. Channel 1 is able on them.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 08:57 AM   #12
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,895
Well at least their not asking a lot

I still think it maybe cheaper to buy some used 5/05's and changing out the CPU's

Are the 1500's a LSP or LRP processors
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 09:40 AM   #13
jatkinson924
Member
United States

jatkinson924 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
well at least their not asking a lot

i still think it maybe cheaper to buy some used 5/05's and changing out the cpu's

are the 1500's a lsp or lrp processors

lrp
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 10:02 AM   #14
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 5,895
So on the 1500's you can change them for 1400's or use a 1761-NET-ENI or padees Prosoft (not sure of cost either) or OkiePC's Digi (525.00)

The LSP only has one port but your LRP has two so you can add the device to your unused port
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 10:31 AM   #15
jatkinson924
Member
United States

jatkinson924 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by geniusintraining View Post
So on the 1500's you can change them for 1400's or use a 1761-NET-ENI or padees Prosoft (not sure of cost either) or OkiePC's Digi (525.00)

The LSP only has one port but your LRP has two so you can add the device to your unused port
What about this for the SLC5/03?

http://www.prosoft-technology.com/Pr...Module-for-SLC
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Subnet question... WillM LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 April 1st, 2016 03:08 AM
Connecting Magelis XBTGT6330 t0 Modbus plus Network RZR LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 23rd, 2012 09:15 AM
AB DH485, SLC 5/04, AIC+ Comm Failure gnieport LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 31st, 2011 04:08 PM
FactoryTalkViewStudio 5.1 Local to Network conversion shrirampendse LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 6th, 2010 10:05 PM
slc 5/04 DH 485 network problem MarkM LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 4th, 2003 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


.