You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 12th, 2018, 07:25 AM   #31
AustralIan
Member
United Kingdom

AustralIan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 710
I didn't realise the XTR had better electrical protection and vibration protection as well. Not bad
  Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2018, 08:54 AM   #32
g.mccormick
Member
United States

g.mccormick is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: IN
Posts: 465
Opto22 has linecalled Snapio. THe IO is rack mounted, but the EB1 and EB2 io processors support EthernetIP (as well as MOdbus, etc). I have successfully used a rack with EnetIP before.

http://opto22.com/site/pr_selector.aspx?cid=1&qs=1003
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2018, 02:36 PM   #33
wilbur77
Member
United States

wilbur77 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Midwest
Posts: 6
I'm also looking for a less expensive alternative to the AB point IO for Ethernet I/P remote IO. Besides Wago, I'm looking at Moxa and Omron. Anyone with experience with either of these?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2018, 02:59 PM   #34
lfe
Member
France

lfe is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 176
Advantech :

http://www.advantech.com/products/et...d-f8f991026c6a
  Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2018, 07:50 PM   #35
Mike Lamond
Member
United States

Mike Lamond is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 69
We just had a very troubling failure with an Advantech ADAM-6117EI analog input module, when the value read by the PLC did not update for some time. Since the input was monitoring a controlled temperature, nobody noticed the lack of change until the techs went in to calibrate the transmitter and got no response. It has been replaced with Point I/O, which will be the standard for all future expansion.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2018, 06:34 AM   #36
lfe
Member
France

lfe is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 176
I mounted dozens of Advantech remote I/O modules, not the Ethernet/IP type but mainly Modbus.

Some of them failed, mainly due to the hard environmental conditions (mounted in industrial furnaces) but the PLC program detected the failed module then triggered an alarm, and force the variable to a safe value.

Last edited by lfe; February 24th, 2018 at 06:45 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2018, 04:27 PM   #37
Toine
Member
Netherlands

Toine is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: NL
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Lamond View Post
We just had a very troubling failure with an Advantech ADAM-6117EI analog input module, when the value read by the PLC did not update for some time. Since the input was monitoring a controlled temperature, nobody noticed the lack of change until the techs went in to calibrate the transmitter and got no response. It has been replaced with Point I/O, which will be the standard for all future expansion.
A common feature on communication with remote I/O's is that a value can be defined that variables take when they are not updated from the remote I/O. Use that feature, you have now found out first hand why it is there.

In case your remote I/O does not have this feature, you can make your own on digital remote I/O. Sacrifice one input and one output to function as a heart beat. Wire that output back to that input. Have the output alternate between high and low at a known pace. Monitor the input for this signal. You know you lost comms if the input stops alternating.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2018, 03:27 AM   #38
John.S
Member
Netherlands

John.S is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Barsingerhorn
Posts: 25
Hi,

In the factory were i am responsible for the automation system, a steel plant with over 50000 I/O points, we have to make a choice for an alternative for the Genius I/O.
We also have a water treatment plant that has more than 40 Siemens ET200M racks so with a total of 200+ I/O modules. Lots of the Siemens modules are placed outside in cabinets. In the 18 years the plant is running now, the ET200 modules never played tricks on me, only 1 24V output module failed becouse someone put 120Vac on it.

So, for the replacement of the Genius I/O the way for me is Siemens ET200MP ( or ET200SP) that is the follow up for ET200M.
Also the MP and SP series are now capable of running high speed counters in remote racks, and the analog input/output cards are capable to accept almost every kind of signal.
They are little more expensive than lot of other I/O systems but verry reliable.

only problem can be that (as far as i know) they only have Profibus or Profinet interface.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 03:20 AM   #39
Allen123
Member
China

Allen123 is offline
 
Allen123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Shenzhen
Posts: 12
You can also take a look at the new remote I/O from Jawest.
http://www.szjawest.cn/index.php/Con.../42/id/27.html
__________________
Industrial Panel PC Manufacture at http://www.szjawest.cn/
  Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2018, 02:11 PM   #40
(8{)} ( .)
Lifetime Supporting Member
Israel

(8{)} ( .) is offline
 
(8{)} ( .)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Israel
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilbur77 View Post
I'm also looking for a less expensive alternative to the AB point IO for Ethernet I/P remote IO. Besides Wago, I'm looking at Moxa and Omron. Anyone with experience with either of these?
I've been using Wago for several years now. I like the add-ons they've got for use with RSLogix5000 for starters.

Good Luck,

Yosi
  Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2018, 11:27 AM   #41
GTUnit
Member
United States

GTUnit is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 365
Automation Direct's new Productivity1000 series racks are very inexpensive and flexible. Could be used as RIO.
https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...able_Micro_PLC)
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2018, 10:00 AM   #42
CapinWinky
Member
United States

CapinWinky is offline
 
CapinWinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 497
B&R was mentioned in passing, but I think their solution is just a bit better than Beckhoff's since the only modules with any configuration to store are the communication cards (so if an IO card is damaged, it can be replaced without any configuration to do). I think the durability of B&R's IP67 modules is better than Beckhoff's, while Beckhoff's IP20 modules are a bit more rugged than B&R's. B&R's IP20 modules have removable terminal blocks, which is nice if you need to move them around while Beckhoff's have fixed terminals, so moving modules means pulling all the wires and re-landing them.

Both cover a wide range of fieldbus support and module types; both support all the major protocols and each other's protocols and each one has a few other protocols the other doesn't (B&R has an OPC UA bus controller and Beckhoff doesn't while Beckhoff has SERCOS and B&R doesn't, for example). As far as IO module diversity, both have a dizzying array of modules available, so you will definitely find everything you need.

I have a bit of experience with Wago and Festo CPX and both were a lot more difficult getting things configured and running than B&R. I never used Beckhoff as 3rd party IO, so I can't speak to configuring it.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------
Cycling power is a sign of weakness.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote I/O or DH+ (How to tell the Difference) Jmeadows7676 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 October 20th, 2013 05:25 PM
SLC Remote I/O - newby help please! stevendt LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 19th, 2011 02:14 PM
Need to add Ethernet IP Remote I/O modules to a MicroLogix 1100: piscis LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 March 31st, 2009 10:32 AM
SLC500 Remote I/O questions keithb LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 January 3rd, 2008 03:18 AM
AB SLC5/05 Remote I/O Block transfers Marc LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 January 19th, 2007 06:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.


.