You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 5th, 2018, 05:05 PM   #1
JuanPLC74
Member
United States

JuanPLC74 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Houston
Posts: 22
Angry Red Lion HMI Crimson 2.0 String Problem

I have a Red Lion G310 that im programming with Crimson 2.0
I have a internal string Tag that needs to be retentive.

I have a string text with data entry with this variable as tag.
When I click on it and the keyboard pops up, I enter a value, say "Hello".
The string immediately goes crazy, and start showing labels from my screen.

I have some labels that say for example part number, save, load, etc..
and this string starts sort of iterating among them.. at some point the HMI stops and gives me some Guru Meditation code, but it is always different.

Could the HMI have problems? or what could it be?
regards/
  Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2018, 06:56 PM   #2
kolyur
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

kolyur is offline
 
kolyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wooster, Ohio
Posts: 1,403
I would first try updating the firmware in your unit. You can do that by installing the newest version of Crimson 2 (build 578). See if the problem goes away. If not you should call Red Lion support.

I have never seen a problem like the one you're describing. I suppose it's possible that if your program has some complicated buggy scripting associated with the data entry, it could cause the unit to go crazy and crash. But that seems unlikely.
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2018, 06:50 AM   #3
JuanPLC74
Member
United States

JuanPLC74 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Houston
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolyur View Post
I would first try updating the firmware in your unit. You can do that by installing the newest version of Crimson 2 (build 578). See if the problem goes away. If not you should call Red Lion support.

I have never seen a problem like the one you're describing. I suppose it's possible that if your program has some complicated buggy scripting associated with the data entry, it could cause the unit to go crazy and crash. But that seems unlikely.
Do you know where I can get the firmware? .. i am not experienced with red lion, this is sort of a one ff project.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2018, 06:56 AM   #4
BryanG
Member
United Kingdom

BryanG is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,267
http://www.redlion.net/support/softw...son/crimson-20

It includes the HMI firmware.

B
  Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2018, 07:03 AM   #5
kolyur
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

kolyur is offline
 
kolyur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wooster, Ohio
Posts: 1,403
After you update the Crimson software on your PC, they next time you try to download a project it will automatically update the firmware.

I would highly recommend upgrading to Crimson 3 if your unit supports it (older G310's don't).
http://www.redlion.net/crimson-30
__________________
John
  Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2018, 08:06 AM   #6
JuanPLC74
Member
United States

JuanPLC74 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Houston
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolyur View Post
After you update the Crimson software on your PC, they next time you try to download a project it will automatically update the firmware.

I would highly recommend upgrading to Crimson 3 if your unit supports it (older G310's don't).
http://www.redlion.net/crimson-30
Thanks, I will see how if i can do the upgrade
  Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2018, 08:07 AM   #7
JuanPLC74
Member
United States

JuanPLC74 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Houston
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanG View Post
thanks so much
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Lion or Beijer HMI Droovers LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 February 26th, 2016 01:09 PM
Red lion Crimson 3 to crimson 2 Rarmstrong123 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 January 15th, 2015 02:26 PM
Hello all and Red Lion controls problem Logix_Stef LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 November 6th, 2014 10:48 AM
Red Lion Cognex comms Problem, writing value to wrong Tags wdd0422 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 29th, 2013 11:43 AM
Red Lion HMI and Control Techniques Drive... and lost ! icc1john LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 27 August 23rd, 2013 04:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.


.