You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!

plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!

Go Back - Interactive Q & A > - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 7th, 2018, 06:25 PM   #1
United States

AlexDB is offline
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: TX
Posts: 7
Ultra3000 Drive not Enabling.

Greetings All!

Preface: I am a complete "fresh out of the womb"-type novice when it comes to PLC programming. I helped get a Logix 500 PLC up and running with a few notes of documentation and a whoooole lot of Google-ing. After that, I was thrown into running and maintaining a retro-fitted machine backed by a Logix5555 PLC. It was running smoothly with a few missteps here and there but now I'm about at wit's end with my current problem.

Our machine has 3 Ultra3000 servo drives and they are for the x, y, and z axes. We had a fault in our x-axis drive saying that there was an overtemp/commutation error in the motor. We got an AB technician out here and they traced it back to the drive and cable being bad so we had them both replaced. Upon installing the new parts, I am now running into a problem where I cannot enable the X-axis servo drive.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
- Alex

Additional details:
- The drive status is "4", the Network Status light is solid green, and the module status light is flashing green.
- In the RSLogix file, the MSO motion instruction is at "ER" but I'm not sure how to figure out why it says that.
- I have tried switching the encoder cable to the other two motors and it still comes up with the same thing, so I don't think it's a motor issue.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2018, 11:46 PM   #2
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ih8Siemens is offline
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: NoDak
Posts: 42
I would first check that you actually cleared the fault. my next step, and I am not too familiar with those drives, but when you refer to "drive not enabling" are you saying that meaning it wont work, or are you saying that there is a parameter that enables the drive and your drive isn't receiving an enable signal?
If you feel comfortable I can give you my email and give the program a once over, shoot me a PM if you are comfortable with that. (or teamview)
  Reply With Quote
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to configure T-100 card in Simovert drive using drive monitor software. sultanahmed LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 July 1st, 2017 07:26 AM
Simovert Master Drive -Profibus Enabling Running Problem Engrtalha LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 9th, 2017 06:39 PM
A/B Ultra3000 Digital Servo Drive E05 fault factoryrat LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 24 July 5th, 2015 07:06 PM
Power Flex, Drive Logix and Control Logix Tim LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 4th, 2007 05:37 PM
AB MO2AE & Yaskawa SGM drive kenschunk LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 September 23rd, 2006 07:25 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.