Car Wash PLC

Martin_Parker

Hi,
I am a student in the UK studying for my HNC in Engineering, part of the course are PLC lectures, as i have not encountered them before i am struggaling. The assignment we have been set is to design a CAR WASH plc system, taking into concideration what sensors to use, which PLC what safety percautions/procedures can be used ect. I was hopeing someone could help me and give me a few ideas or send me some information or even direct me to some where that would give me an idea

[email protected]

This site is an excellent place to learn about PLCs. Study the tutorial. When you encounter something you don't understand, post a question about it.

As to your specific assignment. Take a field trip to the nearest automated car wash. Watch it operate. Take notes about the sequence of operations. Try to figure out how it knows when to turn on the water, soap, brushes, etc. Does it turn on the water when it detects that the car is in the proper position? The device that detects the car position is a sensor.

Once you've reached an understanding of the sequence, play a little game. Watch a car go through the system and mentally tell the car wash what to do next, just a second or two before it does it automatically. For example, when it reaches the proper position, say "Vehicle is in position. Turn on the water". When you find that you can anticipate what the car wash is going to do next, you're ready to transfer your understanding of the system to the PLC.

Wet behind the ears?

The first step will be to create a list of all the I/O the system will need

Possibly the easiest way to come up with such a list is to go out, with a buddy, and wash a car.

Blindfolded.