UL Question for VFD panel

ganutenator

Lifetime Supporting Member
Customer has built a panel w/ two vfds. All that is in the box is the two vfds.

Each VFD is fed from a Breaker outside of the box.

Assuming the wire and breaker size is correct feeding the line side of the VFD do I need any additional protection inside the box?

I copied this from the UL website...

"Protect VFDs in accordance with Markings
Variable frequency drives may or may not be provided with a motor overload function and branch circuit protection."

What question should I ask the Drives group at Schneider Automation?

I'm not an expert of the rules but i know you can have a separate panel feeder going directly to another unprotected panel when it is on the same level(or room... not sure) with a short wiring.
But in your case, if you have 2 differents switch going to the same panel it's to my opinion a bad pratice for a safety reason...You could shut 1 down and believe you're safe to work while their still have dangerous power inside the panel...You should have got 2 different drive panel but at least make sure to have signs on the door and inside saying their is more than 1 live power source to the panel.

If you have a common power feeder for both drives...you aren't protecting the drive but just the cable if both can run toghether. Again i don't know if it is a rule or just a good practice but you should have a separate protection for each. In the case only one can run at the time, you could have the main protection small enough to protect the drive...

I like to use high speed semiconductor fuses that it is suppose to blow before all the electronic inside the drive blow but it is more expensive...

Last edited:
I would be more concerned that you can not isolate the 'Box' with one isolator.
the Idea of two seperate CB supplies - I assume from a SWB remotely.
is not good.