RS232 Cable wiring.

Tharon

I'm new to the world of RS232 Cable wiring, and am looking for some confirmation on how I'm doing this.

I'm trying to make a communication cable to go from a Fagor DRO to a PC. The diagram (Page 3 of the manual, DRO to 9pin PC) shows the PC end has two jumpers (4-6 and 7-8). Are these physical jumpers on the inside of the cable? I don't want to break my serial port on my laptop if I screw this up :)

BTW, this is a project I took from someone else, and they couldn't get their cable to work. I opened up their contectors and noticed no jumpers, and am wondering if that's why they couldn't get it to work.

RS232 (Recommended standard ?!?)

PC Fagor
rx tx
tx rx
gnd gnd
rts - cts jumper (7-8) (PC side)

Check connector on PC. Sub D9 and Sub D25 has for pin 2 and pin 3 a different lay out. Probably 9 pin. (2<->3, (3<->2),(5<->5)
Be carefull with rs232. Do not connect it wrong.
Good luck.

Last edited:
Thanks for your help.

I got it to work and didn't break anything, that's always good. I got worried when you said "Be carefull with rs232. Do not connect it wrong."

Is is possible to ruin a port if you wire a cable wrong?

When you mix up pins on RS232 then you got trouble. Normally the chip controlling the port is defective.
With RS485 a-b wiring is no problem when you mix it up. Well it doen't work but no hardware problems.

Regards,

I know nothing about your specific equipment, so these comments are for rs-232 signals in general. Pins 4-6 and and 7-8 were probably DTR/DSR and CTS/RTS. Those are handshaking lines that are rarely needed by equipment these days. Most computers can still handle them though, you just go into the driver and enable handshaking. So, a lot of 'standard' pinouts just have you install those jumpers to manually bypass any handshaking. The idea is that as soon as the device sets the line high to request data (or to request permission to send it) it responds to itself to go ahead.