RSLogix 500 - I/O mapping question

toads

Hi all,

I'm using a Micrologix 1400 PLC. I have 8 physical DI's, 4 DO, 4 AI's that will be radio transmitted to a DCS Master. The DCS is a Bailey - and accepts data only in Words.

So, the I/O will need to be packed into 16 bit registers and then transmitted.

I'm new to RSLogix 500, i've figured that the Input register is where I add info about my physical DI, F8-Float is my AI, Oo - Outputs etc etc.

To put these into a word then, do I use the MOV command?
source = DI/AI/etc
Dest = N7 ?

Or what is the best way to do this?

Appreciate any help

What are your intentions on handling the AI's? Are you going to send as REALS (2 words) or as Words with implied decimals?

Assuming you want to use REALS, then the COP command is the one to use,
COP F8:0 Destination N7:10 Length 2.
This will populate N7:10 & 11, so the next COP would be to N7:12, the BAILEY system will have to put the 2 words back together.

OR you could multiply F8:0 x 10 to N:10, as long as you are less than 32767, then on the Bailey Side, multiply by 0.1 to get one decimal.

For the IO just MOV the INput OUTput Words to N7:0

I'm treating all Inputs from analog and digital the same. Digitals are in bits - taking up Word N7:0
Analogs are words each.

Does look ok?

plc.jpg

Why not just use an MOV or COP command
I:0 to N7:0 it will move all the bits in 1 command
and it works for both Digital and Analog inputs

A "Word" of Caution...

toads said:
Hi all,

I'm using a Micrologix 1400 PLC. I have 8 physical DI's, 4 DO, 4 AI's that will be radio transmitted to a DCS Master. The DCS is a Bailey - and accepts data only in Words.

So, the I/O will need to be packed into 16 bit registers and then transmitted.

I'm new to RSLogix 500, i've figured that the Input register is where I add info about my physical DI, F8-Float is my AI, Oo - Outputs etc etc....

Hi & Welcome to the Forum!