Types of PLCs

gmcmichael

Hello,

I am a college student and very new to the concept of PLCs, and I was wondering how many different types of PLCs are there? What are the most popular? Are there some that are better than others? I assume part of it depends on what it is being used for. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

welcome to the forum.

by types of plc's you mean brands, there is a lot.
Allen Bradley, Omron, Toshiba, GE, Modicon, Koyo, Square D, Mitsubishi, Siemens, Texas Instruments, and the list goes on. hundreds of them.

what brands are popular, everyone has their own personal preference.
the big question is where do you live, and what is preferred in your area?

I have only dealt with Allen Bradley (AB) for the last 15 years, the plants I worked at only allow that brand, we have multiple licenses for the software.
the plants I worked as before that was mostly Allen Bradley and Mitsubishi.
again, plant standards.

it all depends on the area you are in. at my current location AB has good service, I know of a location in Iowa where you couldn't pay the customers to take AB, their reps stunk and gave horrible service. so Siemens is the top dog there.

in your career, you will have to deal with many types of customers, customer requirements, and people, so you must learn to adapt.

remember to document everything, keep good notes, work with maintenance and learn what they know and can do. give them detailed prints of electrical, pneumatic, hydraulic schematics, give detailed manuals, detailed plc programs.
keep things simple for maintenance to work on issues.

hope this helps,
james

Hello,

I am a college student and very new to the concept of PLCs, and I was wondering how many different types of PLCs are there? What are the most popular? Are there some that are better than others? I assume part of it depends on what it is being used for. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you