You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread January 14th, 2020, 09:11 AM   #1
instruward
Member
Canada

instruward is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 6
Question on creating a search/lookup on HMI?

I'm wanting to create some sort of lookup search window for equipment tags on the HMI. I have a factorytalk view studio hmi file that has been filled will many different screens from various venders/programmers.

If I am trying to find Motor1234, I would like to be able to type in *1234* and have it tell me what screen that motor is on. It is my understanding that this isn't a native feature for view studio. If I have to compile the list myself of the thousands of motor and instrument tags, I plan to eventually.

I'm just not certain the best way to approach this, if I can build and excel sheet and have the HMI perform a lookup? My experience has been more DeltaV, and there is a very strong link between the HMI and the I/O backend, and this lookup feature is sorely missed.
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 14th, 2020, 09:27 AM   #2
Jeebs
Member
Belgium

Jeebs is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leuven
Posts: 1,054
Do you mean in runtime or the IDE?
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 14th, 2020, 09:40 AM   #3
instruward
Member
Canada

instruward is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 6
I think the runtime... Basically as the operator in the plant. We will have an operator tell us that M1234 is "not working". I would like the electricians to quickly find what HMI screen that motor is on to look at the faceplate to see the motor status.

In DeltaV, typing in 1234 into the search box brings up several things. It brings up a button to take you to the screen that motor is on, it brings up the control module where the function block programming is, and it brings up the I/O location. My understanding is that I can't do this with PLCs. However I would like to try and make a crude lookup for motor tags indicating what screen it's on, I'm thinking about trying to link it with an excel sheet.

Last edited by instruward; January 14th, 2020 at 09:43 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 14th, 2020, 10:11 AM   #4
Ken Moore
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North, West, South Carolina
Posts: 2,734
Siemens and Foxboro IA also has the tag search feature, I think it's because there is one common database for all the tags. Most HMI packages do not have this feature. I have never seen it outside of a DCS environment.
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 14th, 2020, 10:26 AM   #5
instruward
Member
Canada

instruward is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 6
Ken, yea this PlantPAx doesn't seem to be quite the "modern DCS" it's marketed as...
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 14th, 2020, 05:09 PM   #6
JaxGTO
Member
United States

JaxGTO is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kalieefornia
Posts: 747
If you have Office installed on the HMI you should be able to drop in a Excel or Word document. If you can search it I don't know. In FTView it might be easier to do some kind of SQL table lookup based on a entry field.
__________________
I have to use Rockwell Software!
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 14th, 2020, 07:45 PM   #7
cwal61
Member
United States

cwal61 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 1,135
In FTVE ME Studio there is a cross reference to do what you ask but, it is only available in the development part of the software. It will show displays, tag database location, that contain the name searched. Even if it is a partial name. You also could use the cross reference to search the PLC Shortcut used in the communication setup folder. This will show any tags that are mapped directly to the PLC and not thru the tag database. Make sure you include the []'s in search.

If you want to build some kind of search option for motors then I would suggest using a display list selector that would show the names of all motors in the system. Then build a parameter file for each or a set of motors and use the display list selector to load the appropriate parameter file and use only one screen to display that information. Any description or Information for each motor could be created in a memory tag in the tag database in a string format and set as the initial value of the tag and also loaded using the parameter file. I would also use the import feature of the tag database to create new folders and tags needed. It's just easier to copy paste info. in the csv file and import.
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 14th, 2020, 08:19 PM   #8
Phrog30
Member
United States

Phrog30 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 581
If there are that many motors create a dynamic screen call. They type the motor hit a button and it opens a window for that motor.
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 15th, 2020, 08:46 AM   #9
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,469
Sounds like the OP would like to have a tag browser built into the HMI application - would be kind of cool to have that capability.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 15th, 2020, 09:29 AM   #10
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrog30 View Post
If there are that many motors create a dynamic screen call. They type the motor hit a button and it opens a window for that motor.
Considering this is for a DCS system where it's very likely that every thing is done with configurable blocks, this would be the way I'd go for too.
Perhaps just a selection box to define what you want to open (Motor, Valve, Analog In, Analogue Out, etc...).
  Reply With Quote
Unread January 15th, 2020, 09:53 AM   #11
instruward
Member
Canada

instruward is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 6
cwal61 That gives me something to look into, I think we use the SE version but I trust it should be similar. The display list selector seems like a good starting point for me, thanks.

jstolaruk - Yes a tag browser is exactly what I was imagining, I'm quite surprised this isn't a standard feature. We have quite a number of operator stations around the facility that are thin clients, not HMIs. We are use to being able to type FIC and have it list every single flow controller loop in the building. I can even type a poor description like "exhaust" and have it list every motor tag with the description "exhaust" (dryer/boiler/HVAC). It's extremely useful for inhouse maintenance people.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Lion HMI, Data Logging Question... Average Daily Value AutomationTechBrian LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 17th, 2018 07:52 PM
Mitsubishi HMI question sjanes9 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 1st, 2016 07:52 AM
Mitsubishi HMI question sjanes9 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 March 9th, 2016 04:00 PM
Advanced HMI - Still in active development? - Also a question re: A.B. ML100 ControlSysNick LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 August 4th, 2014 04:15 PM
recipe and hmi question lbric LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 July 30th, 2013 03:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.


.