1762-IF4 Questions

crono141

Hey All,

I'm still pretty new to PLC programming, and in particular how to translate Allen Bradley's documentation into real world information.

The 1762-IF4 Analog to Digital converter has a input voltage range of -10V to +10V, and a 15 bit (bipolar) resolution. I'm trying to figure out what this means. 15 bit resolution means 0-32768. So does that mean -10V equals 0? Does -10V equal -32768, or does -10V mean -16384 (with +10V meaning +16384).

I'm having calibration issues with 2 sensors connected to this ADC, because I'm not sure how I should be scaling the input. Please help! Thanks.

Data sheet here: https://elebi.com/wp-content/upload...y/MicroLogix 1762-IF4 Analog Input Module.pdf

Last edited:
I have a 1V-5V sensor. The problem is I don't know what value to set 1V to (3277 or 1638), and likewise, I don't know what to set 5V to (16384 or 8192). If 1V is 3277 then 5V should be 16384 (which is what I'm currently using). However, with these values I cannot get a sensor to calibrate. We've maxed out its calibration potentiometer and are still short of the target value. If I change the 1V to 1638 we can calibrate, but then I should change the max to 8192 (since its a 10V ADC, and I'm only using 5V of it). Doing that would cause the reported values to be way over actuals.

Are you measuring 1v-5v off this sensor. If so adding any length of wire from sensor to PLC will change your readings, as bright676 mentioned most sensors are 4-20ma
Iv'e used 0-10 vdc in the past but prefer 4-20ma because of the repeatability of the scale factor even with different lengths of cable. 1v-5v seems like a poor range for a sensor

Run it through the SCP function block and scale it accordingly, Turn it down all the way a read what you have - then back up use these numbers for your min/max input and then scale with what you want