You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 9th, 2019, 10:42 PM   #1
kulmaint
Member
Australia-Aboriginal

kulmaint is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 40
Schneider energy meter conserv em6436h

I have an energy meter schneider conserv em6436h
i want to read data from it through modbus.
Is it possible with the delta,siemens ,allen bradly plcs,
please suggest me the proper method to communicate & requirements regarding this. I have 50 meters in plant and i want to read all my reading form plc.(schneider conserv em6436h )
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2019, 04:15 AM   #2
Wasan
Member
Thailand

Wasan is offline
 
Wasan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Bangkok
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by kulmaint View Post
I have an energy meter schneider conserv em6436h
i want to read data from it through modbus.
Is it possible with the delta,siemens ,allen bradly plcs,
please suggest me the proper method to communicate & requirements regarding this. I have 50 meters in plant and i want to read all my reading form plc.(schneider conserv em6436h )
For em6436h it has Modbus RTU then you can use Delta DVP RS-485 port for connect them by use WPLSoft in menu Wizard -> Program Example Generator -> Communication Program then follow with wizard for comptible with Modbus Register of em6436h.
__________________
Wasan Thawon

My Blog: https://scadaskill.blogspot.com/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/scadaskill

Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/scadaskill
  Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2019, 09:36 AM   #3
Frosty
Member
Ireland

Frosty is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cork
Posts: 66
If you want them back to a Rockwell Controller, I would suggest using a ProSoft card to read in the Modbus data.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2019, 12:54 PM   #4
danw
Member
United States

danw is offline
 
danw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midwest, USA
Posts: 2,967
Modbus is never plug-n-play; Modbus is always a project.

There's no short cut to getting a Modbus network up and running, but getting the first meter to talk to the PLC can be a challenge.

If you have the option, Ethernet (Modbus/TCP) tends to be easier to deal with, and Ethernet meters might piggyback onto an existing plant Ethernet network, saving wiring and switches. An RS-485 network will be dedicated to the meters and you'll need at least two separate 485 networks because RS-485 can handle a maximum of 32 nodes. Will the PLC support two RS-485 ports?

Power meters are always a Modbus slave/server. The PLC needs to be a Modbus Master/client. Sometimes that's a licensed firmware and/or hardware option.

I suggest starting with a Windows Master program and a USB/485 converter (or Ethernet) to read some values from a spare meter. Then get the PLC to read those values from the meter. Then execute any writes to the meter.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2019, 10:20 AM   #5
JohnCalderwood
Member
Scotland

JohnCalderwood is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Stirling
Posts: 677
Quote:
Modbus is never plug-n-play; Modbus is always a project.

There's no short cut to getting a Modbus network up and running, but getting the first meter to talk to the PLC can be a challenge.
aye, you are not kidding....!!

We wanted to get the Socomec Diris A40 reading data on Modbus to a ControlLogix PLC, and had to get quotes from System Integrators, ranging from 3k to 11k.....needless to say, the 11k bidder got dropped...

That was a few years back, and now I want to modify the code, so I will need to get my head round it again...........
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Dreaded Energy Bill & the Do-It-Yourself Energy Meter dpslusser LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 August 29th, 2016 05:22 PM
Flow Meter Wiring to Schneider BMX EHC 0800 charzree LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 April 3rd, 2016 06:38 AM
Issues connecting with an Energy meter through MODBUS keristos LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 54 February 9th, 2016 10:34 AM
ML 1400 as modbus master to communicate with energy meter mbarrett87 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 January 6th, 2015 08:14 AM
RS-485 Citect communication with Algodue UPM304 energy meter captain_is LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 14th, 2010 03:51 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 AM.


.