How to Read Tags from Rockweell PLC Fast? Or how do it RSLinx?

mikeav

Task Description:

Currently I am working on a program in C # for reading data from RSLogix5000 Series controllers (v18.11). The idea is to do without the RSLinx OPC servers.
The program successfully works using the recommended mechanisms described in manual 1756-pm020 from Rockwell.
(https://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/pm/1756-pm020_-en-p.pdf)
Everything is fine, but with a large number of tags, the Update Rate greatly increases even using a Multiply Service Request.
I studied using Wireshark how the exchange between RSLinx and PLC occurs during the exchange of tag reading via OPC connection with the server and it can be seen that it is completely different.
You can see that RSLinx creates a class:
Class (0xb2) - Create
And then works with this class 0xb2 using the service 0x4C.
It can be seen that for one such request the controller sends all tag values ​​in one package.

Question:
1. Can anyone help me how the communication mechanism between the PLC and RSLinx is built?
2. Is there any documentation on the classes of the RSLogix5000 series controllers?
Tried to search Google - found nothing ... I really need your help.
Thank you in advance.

RSLinx uses an undocumented service in which it seems to create an object to transmit a block of data from various tags. Almost like a multi-read request.

How fast do you want to read the tags? I've benchmarked the AdvancedHMI CLX driver reading as fast as 0.5ms with an L8x processor, but more typically 5ms on L7x and CompactLogix processors. If you stay within that 500 byte packet limit, then you can read all of your variables at those rates.