ControlNet to Ethernet.

HoldenC

We recently had our local AB rep tour our facility, in hopes of being able to recover our RSLoix5000 license. During the walk-through, they saw we had a ControlNet set up (We have 2 remote racks that use this. Each rack is about 200ft away.), I was advised to remove the controlnet, and switch to a Ethernet set up. I was told that ControlNet was too complicated for this setup.

So, can anyone give me any advice. I told my boss about it, and I was told I could switch to Ethernet if we needed to. The Local rack already has a Ethernet card, which then attaches to a switch, that connects to our 3 PCs running Factory Talk View in our control room.

Would it be wise to make the switch ? I know we will have to figure out the license before anything can be done however.

That was kind of how I felt, but Im a little new to this, and I was going off what they told me.

No deterministic communications needed here.

Ill check out that link right now.

If you were planning an upgrade or an expansion then converting would be a wise move. If not, I'm with Shawn, if it ain't broke don't try to fix it.

ControlNet does add more (licensed) software, and it does add extra steps sometimes. But changing just for the sake of changing probably isn't wise.

OG

Can anyone recommend some good reading on programming a ControlNet module in case one goes down ? I dont have a backup xc file, and Im a little unsure on how to create one using RsNetworx.

HoldenC, generally with ControlNet - when it works, it stays working...

But of course, you need the backup xc file.

Have you got RSNetworx for ControlNet?

Using RSLogix5000, in the PLC program, use the Controller Organizer, go down to the ControlNet adapter and double-click, then go over to the RSNetworx tab. That should make reference to the ControlNet File that was loaded with the project. May give you some clues as to where it is located...