AB Powerflex 400 Parameters

andrewbe

Alright - first off, I am BRAND new to the whole concept of PLC's. I am fresh out of college and in a software engineering job, and I have been given the task of figuring out why a custom application that we have is having issues programming a Powerflex 400. I have done a bunch of researching on the ActiveX control that we use, which led me to PLC's and all that jazz. I won't go into too much detail of the exact problem I am having (unless I need to) but will say that I have contacted tech support at both the company that made the control (Automated Solutions) and Rockwell. The AS guy told me that he needed a copy of the memory map for the drive. Not sure what that was, I contacted Rockwell, who referred me to the bit layout of the Logic Command word and Logic status word. This certainly didn't seem like at all what I needed (although I forwarded it to the AS guy just in case)

Basically - what is this memory map and how the heck can I access it? Try and be patient with a COMPLETE newcomer to his area, and I will greatly appreciate any and all help and pointers. Thanks in advance :)

A little more info that might trigger something in someones brain. The control that I use has the ability to read using PLC5 and SLC500. PLC5, for some reason, doesn't work (the support guy says they use the Word Range Read command) when I attempt to read anything. When I attempt to read N150:321 (the drive type parameter of the PF400), I get an error (I read somewhere that SLC500 cannot support anything above 255) If this is the case, what am I do?

Again, I hope my ramblings make sense, my head has been spinning all day with all the articles and such I have been reading and talking to two different support guys from two different companies who don't seem to know whats up.