USB conversion for Allen Bradley SCL500 Interface Convertor 1747 PIC

samdutton

G'day all.
I'm a PLC student and have got hold of a SLC500 system with a 1746-L532 cpu. I am told that the interface convertor will allow my computer communicate via a serial cable. Dont have a serial socket on my laptop. Will a serial to USB converter work?

Thanks for your help

Sam,

You can use a USB to serial and communicate to the 9-pin D-type plug (CH0) on the CPU using the DF1 driver in Linx and using a CP3 lead, but you will need the 1747-UIC if you want to talk DH485...

Hope this helps (y)

Hi samdutton.

A 1746-L532 cpu has 2 ports, channel 0 and channel 1.

Channel 0 is a serial port that typically (but not allways) is configured for the DF1 protocol.
Allmost any USB-to-serial converter will do for DF1 protocol.

Channel 1 is fixed set to DH485 protocol.
Only a 1747-UIC will work allow you to connect over DH485 via USB.
Alternatively there is the 1785-PCMK which is a PCMCIA card that is a bit more expensive than the UIC.

I've got the 1784-PCMK and it's kind of a hassle. It doesn't play nice with my laptop's power management, so whenever I'm not using it and need to step away for a few minutes, I have to go through the hassle of stopping the driver in RSlinx and then ejecting the card. Then upon return, re-insert card and fire it back up in RSlinx. It's not that big of a deal, but it's caused me to walk back to find my laptop's battery drained because I forgot to pop the PCMK out and the laptop couldn't go into suspend.

I haven't used the 1747-UIC, but i've been curious to see if it's less of a PIA than the PCMK.

I believe that what inhibits the PC from entering suspend mode is that RSLinx keeps up an online connection to the configured hardware (PCMK or UIC).
So you just have to shut down RSLinx to allow suspend mode.
Therefore I also think that it will be the same with an UIC as a PCMK.

The PCMK gets awfully hot, but I am quite satisfied with mine.