You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 24th, 2021, 03:30 PM   #1
peteman00
Member
United States

peteman00 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 5
Vijeo Runtime Error with AB PLCs

Okay so I've been struggling with this problem for a while now and I cant seem to figure out a cause of it.

I use Vijeo Designer to run a troubleshoot screen for my plant's assembly lines. It talks to the many Allen Bradley PLCs we have to display information and to toggle bits and such.

We have some PLCs that seem to lose communication after a few minutes and Vijeo wont display the correct info for those PLCs.

I get an error on Vijeo that says "Fail to receive on a socket. (PLC3A)" for example. Once I get this error, I don't have comms.

There are 39 PLCs that this Vijeo project talks to and its the newest 4 PLCs that have this issue.

All the PLCs are the same type. (1756-L73 ControlLogix 5573) with version 20.12. They all have 1756-EN2T ethernet modules with various revisions, mostly 5.001. The ones having the problems are similar to ones that work.

I added some screenshots to explain what I am seeing.
Attached Images
File Type: png Errors.PNG (20.5 KB, 16 views)
File Type: png Screen.PNG (58.2 KB, 16 views)
File Type: png Single Error.PNG (5.7 KB, 16 views)
File Type: png Triangles.PNG (80.1 KB, 15 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2021, 03:04 AM   #2
Gazzupta
Member
Australia

Gazzupta is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Perth
Posts: 2
Are you using the ABCLX driver?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2021, 11:45 AM   #3
peteman00
Member
United States

peteman00 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gazzupta View Post
Are you using the ABCLX driver?
I'm using the driver that Vijeo comes with for Allen Bradley Ethernet PLCs. There are a bunch of other plcs that all work.
Attached Images
File Type: png Drivers.PNG (16.6 KB, 37 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2021, 05:07 PM   #4
chud
Member
South Africa

chud is offline
 
chud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: KALAHARI
Posts: 1,027
this seems to be a limit on comms? how many plc's does this screen have to communicate with? By the look of things it is a lot. There are limits to what a hmi can do at once
  Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2021, 04:27 AM   #5
bb76
Member
United Kingdom

bb76 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: UK
Posts: 23
PLC1 and PLC1A have the same IP address in your pic
  Reply With Quote
Old December 1st, 2021, 01:29 PM   #6
Lare
Member
Finland

Lare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,727
What is your gateway IP and subnet mask for PLC3A?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2021, 10:23 AM   #7
peteman00
Member
United States

peteman00 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by bb76 View Post
PLC1 and PLC1A have the same IP address in your pic
Yeah, that is going to be a future PLC split. Because we are adding so many tools and logic for failsafes, the plcs have gotten too big. So we have a few of them split to make them smaller and less cluttered.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2021, 10:25 AM   #8
peteman00
Member
United States

peteman00 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lare View Post
What is your gateway IP and subnet mask for PLC3A?
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 10.192.2.1
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AB plc desktop links for multiple plcs online stayclashy80 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 July 20th, 2020 01:52 PM
AB PLCs communication task hammadalizaman LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 22nd, 2016 09:12 AM
AB PLCs RS232 jeff2004 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 2nd, 2004 03:25 PM
AB PLCs For Dummies ? Philadelphia Frank LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 November 7th, 2003 06:55 PM
Programming software for multiple AB PLCs manojvivek LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 July 9th, 2002 11:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 PM.


.