FactoryTalk HMI architecture computers and panelview mix

V0N_hydro

Hello,

I am responsible for controls in 1 hydroelectric plant out of 3 plants that are being constructed. This is my first project with Allen Bradley gear and I'm a bit uncertain as to how the HMI from all three plants is going to be integrated at the common control center in a coherent way. The plants are 20-50 miles away from eachother.

I have attached a picture that shows the following components:
Each plant has a PLC and touchscreen HMI at the intake which is a couple miles from the powerhouse.

The powerhouse has a control room containing the control panels consisting of: a common PLC and touchscreen in the plant to co-ordinate the generators, a PLC and touchscreen for each generator. There is also a computer based HMI in the plant control room.

The purpose of the touchscreen HMI at the intake and on the common control panel is to be "an exact replica" of the computer based powerhouse HMI.

The touchscreens specific to each generator are meant to display a few key process values, they are a substitute for analog meters and pushbuttons etc.

At one of the plants there is a manned control room. The other two plants are to be operated remotely most of the time from the common control room.

Also people will want to be able to extract data for reporting etc from the head office.

With citect the HMI project from each plant can be "included" in the HMI project at the common control room and citect will talk to the IO/Data/Alarm/Trend server at each plant. All that needs to be done is to make one overview type screen that shows the whole cluster of plants and allows navigation to each screen from the included projects. Does a similar mechanism exist in Factory Talk? Anything I should be aware of when acquiring licenses or designing PLC program / HMI screens that could bite?