Rough transition from Mitsubishi A- to L-series

gurar

For nearly 20 years, my employer (an OEM) used the A1SJH in a portable testing machine that required calibration of several sensors. The calibration data was stored in volatile memory, along with settings for the test. From time to time, I upgraded the control software in older machines, and this never affected the stored calibration data and only once had a minor effect on one test setting. We transitioned to the L-series (L02CPU-P) shortly before our software engineer retired. I have found that upgrading the software on the L-series also wipes out the calibration data. While this information is fairly easy to reload, I'm wondering if there is a different memory location where this type of data should be stored. The control software has the same "look" as it did with the A-series, a handful of files called main, parameters, etc. It seems the calibration data and settings are packed in these now. I'm not a programmer- I operate the help desk for our customers and lack the specialized skill we lost when my pal retired. Any ideas to fix this issue would be appreciated.

In all Mitsubishi PLC's the data is stored in the "M", "D", "R" bits, some of these are retentive but the areas can be changed, this change is done in the parameters so you can make an area retentive. See pic.
What you should do is upload from the old PLC the memory area (usually called MAIN), and the PLC Parameters, this will store a snapshot of all memory internal bits/words into the original "A" series file, this also applies to the PLC parameters just in case this has not been updated. It will depend if the retentive area was set in the PLC in the parameters, on a "A" series I believe it is not set by default.