You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 22nd, 2019, 04:54 PM   #1
defcon.klaxon
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

defcon.klaxon is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Far NorCal
Posts: 446
What cable/hardware is needed to connect to a GE 90-30 controller?

Hi all,

A client has an existing pump house with a GE 90-30 PLC controlling things. I need to connect to it and extract the code and tags from the controller, but I've never connected to a 90-30, only the RX3i. The client has an adapter that goes from the 15 pin dsub on the controller to a 9 pin, so I'm assuming it's a serial connection of some sort. But is anything, other than a serial-to-USB connector needed? Is there some sort of proprietary interface box or anything like that?

Thanks for any help!
  Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2019, 05:10 PM   #2
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is offline
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,863
If they already have the RS485/RS232 adapter with no cable, the cable is a 9-pin female both ends with pin-to-pin connections, 1-1, 2-2, 3-3, etc although all you really need is 2-2, 3-3, 5-5. There are some models of adapters with the cable included which is designed to plug into a typical RS232 serial port or serial/USB adapter.
Simply extracting the program from the PLC will not get the rung comments and tag descriptions. They are not stored in 90-30 memory like they are in the Rx3i. If the customer has a backup copy of the program with annotation first open that and then pull the program from the PLC if it turns out not equal.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2019, 05:28 PM   #3
defcon.klaxon
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

defcon.klaxon is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Far NorCal
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bailey View Post
If they already have the RS485/RS232 adapter with no cable
Exactly that; it's an adapter but no cable, it's 15 pin male to 9 pin male.

Quote:
the cable is a 9-pin female both ends with pin-to-pin connections, 1-1, 2-2, 3-3, etc although all you really need is 2-2, 3-3, 5-5.
OK cool, so between a path-thru (i.e., not a null modem) cable and appropriate gender adapters, I should be able to connect.


Quote:
There are some models of adapters with the cable included which is designed to plug into a typical RS232 serial port or serial/USB adapter.
I have seen those on Amazon, seems like a convenient cable but since I already have what I need, I'll consider buying one for future projects but doesn't sound like I need one for this project.


Quote:
Simply extracting the program from the PLC will not get the rung comments and tag descriptions. They are not stored in 90-30 memory like they are in the Rx3i. If the customer has a backup copy of the program with annotation first open that and then pull the program from the PLC if it turns out not equal.
Damn! Just like Scadapacks. Doesn't sound like the client has a back up of the software. I do know who assembled the panel so I can contact them and ask, but with an assembled date of 2003 who knows what may or may not be available.

Thanks for the help, especially the note about how 90-30s don't store comments and tag names...that's good to know now, before I connect to the PLC.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2019, 05:49 AM   #4
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is online now
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 6,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by defcon.klaxon View Post
I'll consider buying one for future projects but doesn't sound like I need one for this project.
We sell them when/if your looking

https://www.plccable.com/ge-fanuc-schneider-modicon/
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, Fluke Meters, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more... all your automation needs... ((NEW)) After Market 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+ and Gateways
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to connect to an online running GE fanuc LM90-30 CPU363 Exers LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 21st, 2019 12:38 AM
Programming old GE S2K Drive / controller NevisGroup LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 28th, 2017 11:29 AM
Ge rxi icrxictl000 controller mag176 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 31st, 2014 02:52 PM
Ge Micro series 90 Logicmaster pl program ddown33 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 August 18th, 2009 06:18 AM
GE fanuc PLC & Temprature controller harshad LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 1st, 2005 08:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 AM.


.